Top-rated product

Product Reviews

none 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer

Overall rating:
4.321 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars:(19)
4 Stars:(5)
3 Stars:(1)
2 Stars:(0)
1 Star:(3)
5 out of 5100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend
Customer reviews for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
Review 1 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Somewhere, NC
I've had this product for:less than a month
Spacesaver Packing a Punch!
Date:June 8, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Bluetooth for Pandora, space saver, great sound with a variety of sound fields, value, wireless technology
Cons: 
Cons: HDMI input placement, only an on and offf option for audio/video delay, included optical cord extremely tiny
This little system sounds great and the Bluetooth is easy to use for streaming apps such as Pandora. It has plenty of sound field modes and it enables you to make adjustments for tone and sub level. I have it paired with the new Sony 60" R550 3D-HDTV and it matches quite well. I like that this little unit saves space and eliminates wires with the sub. The only downfall of this unit is the poor design for the HDMI inputs. If you plan to put it on the wall yo will need 90 degree cables. and the audio/video delay does not allow for adjustments as it only lets you turn it on and off. The last downfall is that this unit comes with on tiny cord for optical hook up, (come on Sony, seeing this cord was like being slapped in the face), so plan on having a good one readily available.
Overall, for the value, I rate this sound bar superb over the other products available on the market and is a must buy if you are already a Sony customer!
+38votes
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Charlotte, NC
I've had this product for:less than a month
Impressive, highly recommend
Date:July 30, 2013
Reading the great reviews just had to see it for myself. Wow, the sound is great, so much better than the surround sound we were using. Easy set up (have a long HDMI cord for hook up-does not come with one). Bluetooth was easy to set up as well. We have a medium size room in which we watch tv, the sound is perfect. I think if the room was larger, taller ceiling, it would not sound as well. We have enjoyed movies and sports so far and the sound is superb. Not sure how they get "46-Inch Sound Bar", but I'm assuming if you put the sound bar and subwoofer together it's 46". The sound bar alone is 40.5" We have completed our new 3D Bravia Sony Smart TV and Blue Ray with this sound system. Did not try to use the sync function due to some comments that it doesn't work. The box it comes in is huge, probably 4' tall and heavy. The box has a picture of what is inside, our UPS man didn't want to leave it on the front porch, good thing we were home.
+35votes
38of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Caseville, MI
Not a Happy Customer
Date:July 9, 2014
I bought this sound bar as a gift for my husband in Dec. By the end of May the sound stopped working. I sent the Sound Bar back to Sony June 2nd. We received the sound Bar back at the end of June. As of this date we have not received the remote control that goes with it. I have no way of using or testing the sound bar with out the remote. I have called Sony 2 times about returning the remote. They have not been very friendly and so far all I have gotten is the run around. Not a happy customer. I never thought the sound quality was very good. We use it for our TV sound. I don't know if I just received a lemon or the quality is that poor. I purchased because of the good reviews it had received. If they cant find my remote why don't they just send me a new one or are they just dragging my warranty out?? Buyer Beware and have a long time to sit on hold if you call them.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Response from SonyBy AmandaSony SupportJuly 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I would be more than happy to review your file to see what is going on. Please email sonysupportusa@am.sony.com with contact info and any event/references #'s you may have.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChazR
Posted September 30, 2014
I thought the response from Sony's Customer Support was very weak given there is a complaint of this magnitude on a public forum. I give you credit for monitoring it, however that is greatly diminished by placing the burden for service on the customer. To give the customer a generic support email address is not the caliber of service one would expect for their patronage. This is equivalent to the phone call she has complained about in her rating. Hopefully by now the issue is resolved, which for the sake of Sony's service reputation should be articulated. Just a thought from a potential customer with the understanding that service is the main differentiator.
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
I've had this product for:1-3 months
One little problem
Date:June 2, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Decent sound
Cons: 
Cons: Wall mounting & HDMI input location
Just received this today.
I couldn't wait to unpack it and set it up.
I made all the connections and placed it on a table to check it out.
Sound is much better than my Panasonic plasma with it's rear facing speakers.
My TV is mounted on the wall and I planned on doing the same with the soundbar.
When I went to mount it on the wall I discovered one little design flaw.
If you are using standard HDMI cables you can not mount it on the wall.
The HDMI cables stick straight out the back of the soundbar.
It doesn't matter which brand you use.
I have several.
You need to purchase 90 degree adapters or cables otherwise it won't mount flush to the wall.
It needs to since there are only 2 little mounting holes on the back.
+51votes
52of 53voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Clearwater FL
Sound Bar
Date:May 6, 2014
I wanted to use headphones with the sound bar. Sony says it won't work. I bought a "sound extractor" from J-Tech. It works if connected between the cable box and the bar. If it is connected between the bar and the TV, you do not get audio out of the extractor. So I cannot hear a movie using my Roku, or the. Sony blue ray player (connected to the bar) on my headphones ,only TV , without switching to the TV speakers. The "fix" is to feed the sound bar with a SPDIF cable and use the bar remote to control the audio for other listeners. The phones can connect to "audio out" on the TV. Sony should find a way to use headphones with the sound bar for those folks that are hearing impaired. I have been in homes where there were as many as five remotes in front of the TV! If all the connected equipment is Sony, everything should work with one remote.
+5votes
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Conifer,CO
46" Soundbar with Sub
Date:May 5, 2014
I like this very much. It was very easy to set up. Place it where you want it, plug in the hdmi cable, plug in the electrical cord. Choose your subwoofer location, plug it in, turn it on. Turn on the unit, turn on the tv, and you are in business. NOTICE, I said turn on the unit first! This unit defaults to tv input when turned on after the tv. Turn on unit first and you don't have to manually change the input. I would think that the input would go to the active connection instead of default to tv.
Other then that little annoyance, it's a great addtion to my A/V setup. The flat screen tv speakers are downfiring, so you really have no choice but to either hook up an elaborate 5 or 7.1 sound system or this alternative. I chose this.
My only real complaint. I wish the readout on the display was both larger and brighter. At least when remote is in use. It is way too dim in my opinion.
A little side note: I do have an elaboate sound system with a Sony reciever in the same room for other purposes, and the remote turns the reciever on also. (Smile) No big deal. I just manually turn the reciever off.
I've always been a big fan of Sony products.The first tv I purchased for my family years ago was a Sony.
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Salem, MA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Very good but a few issues
Date:July 6, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: 9 sound fields, design, features, HDMI and optical options, right size for a 46" TV
Cons: 
Cons: power save mode is faulty, lack of stereo separation, lack of treble response, remote design
Bought this on a whim knowing the HT-CT260 received rave reviews. This is bigger and perfect for a 46" TV. Sounds excellent after tweaking the EQ to improve treble response, more depth at loud levels and with classical music. Video games sound amazing on this (try Call of Duty!) 9 sound fields to choose but only six on the remote (can select the rest with an up/down button - what's up with that???). I do wish each sound field came with its own EQ preset so I could tweak each one individually - they are not perfect. The EQ is great, however, especially the vocal level adjust. IR pass through is useless if your TV remote sensor is not in the middle of the TV. I did not notice any real difference between optical and HDMI though audiophile sites say to use HDMI - to each their own and that's what makes this bar great. The only major problem I have is that, when the power save feature is enabled, after the bar powers down, it will not power back up again without unplugging it for close to an hour. Happened multiple times and customer support said to bring it in for service. Customer support also could not quote their own warranty, saying I would probably have to pay for labor - when I had it for only 3 weeks. This bar has one year parts and labor. When I disabled power save it has worked fine since. If you want better sound separation, get a surround system or just a 2.1 system with the best speakers you can buy. I don't think this sound "fills the room" and sound bars in general will not give you "surround sound" but it will make a small room feel like a movie theater. Try placing the subwoofer in different parts of the room to get the best separation and balance - I do not recommend putting the sub completely in a corner. Mine is against the side of my couch about two feet from the back corner of the room and a few inches from the back wall. If you hate wires and like simplicity, get this. I find Sony generally makes great products though reliability tends to be variable. Only time will tell if the bar develops more problems or if it lasts a lifetime.
+52votes
55of 58voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Pt Pleasant, NJ
I've had this product for:less than a month
HT-CT660
Date:July 25, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: 3 HDMI inputs, great sound, great looks
Cons: 
Cons: none
Bought this to replace an old Philips soundbar that was in the bedroom. This thing rocks! I have a 7.1 system in the family room. I am not interested in a 5.1 system in the bedroom, even if it had wireless rear speakers.
I was looking for a soundbar with excellent sound and features and this has it. The bass it produces is superb! Love the Bluetooth.
It won't give you totally immersed 5.1 surround, but it will make you happy. I have not one bad thing to say about it. It definitely ROCKS the bedroom, and house. I had it turned up to check out the sound and my Mother In Law thought the bass was thunder.
I highly recommend this product!
+19votes
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Las Vegas, NV
Sound quality and Technology merged
Date:September 8, 2014
Sony has been always the leader when is about sound quality, and this Soundbar Ct660 didn't disappoint me at all. I tried different Soundbars, and none of them was able to reach the balance between treble and bass that I was looking for. I am more leaning to music, like classical and orchestra, and this soundbar accomplished perfectly my needs.
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Windsor Ontario
One of the best
Date:January 11, 2014
Easy to setup, Very good remote, Very good 2.1 sound, few wires (wireless sub), Good price when it's on sale for 300. Good manual. Great Sony Support.
The only problem I had was that the display is too dark to see in my living room. It was at max brightness (use display button on the remote for three levels). Sony support was a help but brightness could not be increased and we agreed mine must be defective. I took it back and compared it to others in the store. It was the same brightness as the rest. I kept the sound-bar and live with the display. Perhaps there will be a firmware fix.
+12votes
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Lancaster, KY
Works as Advertised
Date:May 5, 2014
Great product!! Replaced a surround sound system because we could not hear the dialogue in movies. Easy install. Works well with my Sony TV. Settings are great for different environments-music, movie, news, etc. Bluetooth of my phone and Ipad was super simple. Great Sony product!!
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Ontario
Great sound
Date:November 30, 2013
Great audio system. Very simple setup and fits nicely in our home.
+16votes
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: San Diego
Excellent sound and Value
Date:May 4, 2014
Before buying this, I have had a Bose 321 GS, an older model Sony sound bar and a Yamaha sound bar. I am very pleased with the overall sound quality and value of this system. The sound stage settings are well designed for their designated application. The simulated surround sound is the best that I have heard on any of my systems.
We have it in a fairly large room and the sound is more than enough to fill the space. At the current pricing, I don't think that you can find a better system.
+3votes
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Hilton Head, SC
Excellent for Hearing Dialogue
Date:May 3, 2014
No longer necessary to turn the volume up in order to hear dialogue especially UK shows like Downton Abby. Used in conjunction with my 55" Sony TV allowed me to get rid of two remotes. We love the ease of moving between devices and using the same sound device for all.
+3votes
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Broken Arrow, OK
Sony Sound Bar
Date:May 7, 2014
We love the Sony sound bar & sub woofer!!! It makes a world of difference when watching tv or movies!
+3votes
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: New Orleans la
Best purchase ever.
Date:May 30, 2014
Best purchase ever .no drilling; no cutting, no beating. I just opened the box.placed sound bar underneath Sony TV 60 " and sub behind recliner. That's all I need no wires clear voice , bass shaking sub. Everything sony. You purchase sony. No problems. I recommend this product to everyone.
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: CT
EXCELLENCE!!
Date:May 3, 2014
The sound is fantastic!. If your TV HDMI supports ARC it's even better (less wires), and the bluetooth connectivity is flawless. The only downside is the design for wall mounting in regards to space between the wall and and the sound bar, there isn't much room for the power cord and HDMI wire. Easily solved with a couple of wood blocks as a spacer which is hidden when done properly.
+1vote
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: San Francisco
Lifelike sound, great size too.
Date:May 3, 2014
I got this 46" model but matched it to a 40" television ad it is fine. My 40" TV is a five year old Sony XBR2 which has about 5" of bezel, speaker, and edging on each side so the 46" soundbar fits nicely. If I upgrade the TV it'll likely be a newer style 46" or larger and most no longer have speakers on the side... The sound level and quality are awesome!
+1vote
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Dallas, Ga.
Great piece of equipment. Compact yet adequate.
Date:May 4, 2014
She wanted the big speakers gone! They have a new home now, still rockin, but in another room. The HT-660 truly gets it done. Clean sound with enough power to annoy folk in the next room. Compact, easy on the eyes and easy to operate. Bluetooth is real handy also. Makes the tablet a cool jambox! I give it thumbs up.
+1vote
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 330W 2.1ch Sound bar w/wireless subwoofer
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: FORT Pierce FL 34945
Faulty sound bar system
Date:May 7, 2014
The system worked for about nine (9) months and went on the blink... I had a special shelf built for the sound bar ...wasted money
+1vote
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Response from SonyBy CarmelaJSonyMay 12, 2014
I regret to hear your unit went, however, allow us to turn this into a better experience for you. An email to SonySupportUSA@am.sony.com would be very much appreciated. Thanks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>