Top-rated product

Product Reviews

none Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars:(40)
4 Stars:(13)
3 Stars:(4)
2 Stars:(1)
1 Star:(6)
52 out of 5988%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
Review 1 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Ontario
I've had this product for:less than a month
A Really Fantastic Pocket Camera
Date:August 21, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: fast, small, big sensor, high megapixels, features
Cons: 
Cons: No Viewfinder
I am very impressed with thtis camera. When I saw the NY Times state it was the best pocket camera ever made, I wanted to see for myself... and yes it is. I have never seen any pocket camera take pictures this sharp, clear, colorful, beautiful. It is very fast. 10fps. Lots of features. I love the HDR, the Panaramic, the selective color and black and white.
The video mode is excellent. I love the speed of being able to turn the camera on and press the dedicated record video button all in a short couple seconds.
The only thing that bugs me, is not having a viewfinder at all. Some will say the LCD is good even in bright sunlight... but while it is pretty good, when I was using it during the mid-day sun, I could barely see the image on the LCD. I don't think LCDs will ever be good enough to see in direct sunlight. That's where an optical or even electronic viewfinder would have made this camera a 10 out of 10. But as it is... I still rate it a 10 out of 10 or, 5 out of 5 because it is what it is, and it does not have a viewfinder and I knew this before I bought it. So it gets a perfect score from me.
+29votes
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
Presales
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Winnipeg, MB
I've had this product for:less than a month
This camera has raised the bar
Date:July 19, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Really compact and pocketable, fast, excellen IQ, intuitive menus, strong flash (can be bounced), incredible high ISO IQ
Cons: 
Cons: Grip could be better, wish I could keep in display the picture I just took until half-pressing the shutter button again
Have had the camera for 3 days, well, there are many reviews on the web about this camera that will give you a lot more in depth and detailed information, but in general they all conclude that SONY has raised the standard in compact cameras, THEY ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT!.
This marvel of modern technology rivals the IQ I get from my GF3 with the kit lens, in fact many times I get better images with the RX100 than with the GF3. I am a regular user, not a photographer by any means and was looking for the best IQ in a pocket size camera, with enough flexibility to get creative when I want, a camera that could produce beatiful portraits with nice bokeh, than can shoot on a variety of situations including very low light and all the way to sunny weather and high speed action. This camera takes outstanding high ISO low light shots (handheld!). If you can afford it, there is no need to get another camera but this.
+21votes
24of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Victoria BC Canada
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Great Camera but had to send it for repair
Date:April 1, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Great IQ; very fast autofocus
Cons: 
Cons: recently had to send it for a repair
The online, in-depth reviews are accurate. This camera is the best I've used in terms of combining compact size, IQ and fast focus. The latter is the main reason I spent the big bucks and it did not disappoint in this regard. It is significantly faster than a Canon S110 for example. The images are stunning, again, the best I've ever had from the cameras I've owned. Unfortunately the focusing motor has recently started to malfunction on mine - it either can't find focus or won't stop engaging once it's found focus and I've just sent it for repair. This doesn't appear to be a common problem so I would still recommend the RX100. The cost to performance does seem a bit on the high side but if you can afford it, it's worth it. Hopefully Sony's repair service is good.
+34votes
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Canada
I've had this product for:6-12 months
My Go To Camera
Date:February 24, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Picture and Build Quality
Cons: 
Cons: None
Best camera i have owned. I have had the likes of Canon G10, Pentax SLR and many others. This camera is the go to for me. Amazing picture quality and everything you will ever need to capture a still or moving object. Amazing features. Great value.
+22votes
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: Toronto, ON
I've had this product for:less than a month
Excellent picture but strange AF behavior
Date:July 18, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: 1"-type sensor, small and compact size, good picture quality in its class
Cons: 
Cons: Laggy LCD, strange AF-C constant hunting/pulsing, inability to switch off active AF in AF mode, flimsy hdmi door
I just received my camera and started to explore it. I am currently using Nikon J1 and trying RX100 is a natural thing to do considering the same sensor size and 4 times brighter lens at wide angle.
These are pros I noticed while using RX100:---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) Sensor has 2x higher resolution than Nikon J1 but it did not degrade the picture quality at all. I would say the final picture quality is main thing why I am not returning this camera. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2) Review mode can be switched off reducing the lag of LCD to almost zero when shooting. With Nikon J1 it is always 2 seconds. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
3) ISO is showing on LCD screen when shutter button is half-pressed. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4) There is a digital level. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5) Leaf shutter is almost silent but not as silent and robust as digital shutter. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
6) Exposure is measured at time shutter button is half pressed without delays and lagging. With Nikon J1/V1 it takes up to 4 seconds for exposure to catch up when you recompose the shot, it works like in video camera there which is annoying with Nikon cameras. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
And these are cons: -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
1) Very flimsy hdmi door. It is the only port that is going to be used to charge the battery, it should be sturdy. This deficiency cannot be fixed. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2) You cannot switch off active AF in AF-S (single autofocus) mode, camera is constantly autofocussing eating out the batteries and hunting when camera is moved. This can be partially fixed by using AF-DMF but in this mode tracking AF does not work and it is very useful sometimes. Can be fixed in firmware but I am not sure if Sony is going to do that. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
3) Absolutely strange and bad behavior in AF-C mode (continuous autofocus). In this mode, once you half-press the shutter button, camera starts pulsing autofocus back and force all the time, picture is constantly jumping in LCD back and force as if camera is not sure if autofocus achieved is the best one. It is not hunting, focus is confirmed. It is constant pulsing back and force in AF-mode. Very frustrating and can lead to headaches. Can and should be fixed in firmware. There are no other cameras with this annoying AF-C behavior. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4) minimum shutter speed is 1/2000s. It is simply not enough to take photos at daylight if you want to use aperture less than f4. And there is no built-in ND filter and no possibility to attach external one. This cannot be fixed. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5) You cannot lift flash by pressing the button. Not sure if it can be fixed in firmware as there are no spare buttons for that. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
6) Camera can take photo if AF is not confirmed producing blurred photos if you press shutter button to fast. Should be configurable. Can and should be fixed in further firmware. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
7) Picture in LCD becomes laggy when you half-press the shutter button (sometimes with delays up to half a second). It is smooth in Nikon J1/V1 system all the time. I am not sure if it can be fixed in firmware. If it is CPU that is lagging behind, nothing can be done here. Nikon is using very powerful CPU. Sony probably not. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
With my camera I had one more con and I am in the process of replacing it with another camera. The right top corner at full-size 100% picture is very soft, at every aperture, much softer than other corners. So I hope that replacement camera will be much better here. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Even with so many cons, after analyzing pictures from Nikon J1 and Sony RX100, I find Sony to produce stunningly better results. The only thing missing right now is RAW support from Adobe's Lightroom.
+58votes
64of 70voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Ontario, Canada
I've had this product for:less than a month
A landmark camera
Date:July 21, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Extraordinary capability for such a small compact. Beautifully designed.
Cons: 
Cons: Included manual is insufficient. RAW capability limited until Aperture, Lightroom etc update
As an owner of the a900 and a77 (and long-time Minolta user), I am also a pretty demanding photographer, needing professional results for some of my work. I hadn't previously considered a compact camera, as the NEX series doesn't really fit in that category, particularly when longer/interchangeable lenses are added.
This compact changes all that, as it offers very good image quality, and a user interface that is very familiar to me, in an amazingly small package. No need for me to review these features in depth (I just got the camera this week), just google RX100 and you'll find a wealth of reviews from highly qualified sources, with very positive comments. Highly recommended for the price, especially for users of more advanced Sony DSLRs.
+9votes
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Edmonton, AB
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Powerful for it's size
Date:June 3, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Compact, powerful, reasonable price
Cons: 
Cons: Short Battery Life, no optical view finder
I spent 2 hours in the SONY Store playing with this camera and took one hope right after. I am very happy with what this tiny package can provide. The construction is also very solid. I specially enjoy the F1.8 at full wide this lens can offer, as well as the pop up flash that you can hold back with your finger so that it points up acting like a bounce flash. I also enjoy the front and rear dial on the camera that allows you go easily change settings on the fly.
ONE NOTE TO SONY!! PLEASE make a waterproof case for this camera.
+10votes
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Miami Beach, FL
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Five stars big time!!!!!!!
Date:June 11, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: small, light, great performance in low light, fast
Cons: 
Cons: fragile flash, confusing settings and missing manual
As semi-professional photographer I am a NIKON shooter. I own few lenses and shoot mostly concerts, events and high fashion. For a long time I was looking for a good small TO-GO camera that will be sharp in low light situations as I am guest on many events all over FL not only when working and covering it for local magainze but privet for my blog Miami Photo Life. From the moment I start shooting with RX100 I was ....wooooooowww what is this??? Amazing!!! Hands down! Fast, sharp, great colors, ISO on high settings looks still good, picture stabilization - outstanding!!! On my blog I post short photo review so you can have a look (http://monikaphotolife.zenfolio.com/blog/2013/5/hands-on-sony-dsc-rx100) :))) I am in love with that little Sony ! This camera is always ready to shoot in a speed of a second! :)))
www.monikaphotolife.com
www.miamiphotolife.com
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+32votes
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Response from SonyBy KatieSony ElectronicsJune 14, 2013
AWESOME! Thanks for sharing!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: San Diego
I've had this product for:less than a month
RX 100 Camera- Wow!
Date:September 19, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Image quality, video quality, size, features
Cons: 
Cons: Missing features, HDMI ouput location, no charger
Based on reviews I went for this camera right away. The 1" CMOS, 20 megapixels, Zeiss lens and F1.8 speed, video quality, still image quality, size, overall creative features and the capability of this camera is amazing. I work in broadcast TV and we use many Sony products, including video cameras. That said we are moving to CMOS sensors to shoot more and more and we shoot quite a bit of DSLR. While the RX 100 won't match a DSLR in all applications, what it can do given it's small size and ease of use is astounding. And as a still camera it really is terrific. It is the one camera to have on you at all times.
That said, here is what it still needs-
Interval shooting capability. I seriously hope a firmware update is in our future so we can shoot interval images. 24p video shooting is also a must have going forward. The micro HDMI location means no tripod mounting and external screen monitoring at the same time (more of an issues for pros). Lastly no external battery charger- really Sony?- come on and roll it out for us.
For the size and the price this camera is great. A few updates and new features would be a market killer. Hope Sony delivers.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+38votes
38of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Nokomis, FL
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Let me count the ways!
Date:July 29, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Image quality, pocketable, manual controls, great lens, bright LCD
Cons: 
Cons: Menu learning curve
Over the years we've owned many digital cameras including DSLR, Micro Four Thirds and Point & Shoot. I'd rate my abilities as an advanced armature.
Simply put, the RX100 is the best P&S camera available today, period. Why? It has the best sensor available in a P&S camera and, in terms of image quality, can and does produce results equal to those form DSLR and MFT cameras, simply put the Sony 20MB sensor produces absolutely stunning photos.
The RX100 can be used as s simple P&S camera, just set it to Superior Auto and go to work, you'll love the results. If you're an advanced shooter, the RX100 has a range of manual control that will accommodate any shooting approach you'd like to use, if you want it, it's there. The Zeiss lens is terrific and has a very useful zoom range. Tiered of LCD viewing screens that can't be used in bright sun, well forget it with the RX100, just turn up the brightness and keep shooting.
There isn't much this little, truly pocketable, camera can't do it terms of producing excellent photographic results. In case you haven' guessed, I love this little wonder. And, yes, the menu system has a steep learning curve but that's true for any camera with loads of manual control and flexibility.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31votes
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Indiana
Informative Review
Date:September 26, 2013
I purchased the Sony DSC-RX100B to augment my Sony DSC-HX100B. I am NOT a professional photographer. More aptly, an avid hobbyist and primarily shoot outdoor scenes. I use my kayak to go where other photographers fear to tread.
My main purpose for purchasing the RX-100 was to acquire a camera that would shoot in RAW format and not sacrifice, what I believe to be, the outstanding quality of the Zeiss lenses. In the suite I use for Post Production, no not the expensive well known brand name, I do very little to compensate for lens aberration. A secondary purpose was to have a device that was more compact than the 100B. I really love my HX100B and If I were to make a choice again, I would probably go with the second incantation of the RX100. Of course, the RX1 would be the ultimate tool, but I am too frugal. Having the availability of a tilting LCD is a very big plus and is probably the feature I miss the most. On my HX100 I have developed the habit of using the EVF. When shooting from my tripod, which extends above my head, for higher shots, it is really beneficial to have a LCD that will tilt down so I can frame the shot accurately. It is also a nice feature when shooting from low levels and on bright sunlit days to reduce glare. The RX100 does a decent job with the increased clarity of the LCD and the option to control its brightness.
I am becoming a big fan of HDR images. The availability of White Balance bracketed shots is really good on both Sony cameras. My software handles this task well. I can even use a single RAW image to achieve the same result. It will split the channels of the image and then process it as if it were 3 images. I am pleased with my RX100 with the exception of the tilting LCD. If anyone wishes, you may contact me, except for commercial purposes, at activegrandad at that gmail dot com. I will be happy to attempt answering your questions and sharing my experiences.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9votes
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Austin, TX
I've had this product for:less than a month
The absolute best portable camera in the market
Date:July 23, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Incredible image quality, 1" sensor, f/1.8 lens
Cons: 
Cons: None really!
Up to now, most of us had to make a tradeoff between portability and quality. No more. This camera can take shots as good –and sometimes better- as my trusted DSLR.
Take a look at my sample shots at http://www.flickr.com/photos/gdada/sets/72157630705719378/
PORTABILITY
This camera fits in my hand, in my pocket and in my laptop bag. In fact, I am using the case for my wife’s Lumix TZ8. I can bring this camera with me anywhere.
One big advantage is safety: if you travel to places that are not 100% safe, any potential robber would mistake it with a cheap $200 camera. More importantly, you will nevr have to leave this camera in a hotel room, on the trunk of your car, or will have to carry a big backpack with camera and accessories.
Why this is size so important? You miss 100% of the shots you can’t take because you cannot bring your camera. Because this is a camera you will carry anywhere. There have been many business trips, weekend opportunities and just in the moment photo opportunities where it was not practical or safe to bring my big DSLR. That is no longer a problem with a portable camera like this that gives me all the quality and control I need as an experienced photographer.
The only downside to size it that it looks pretty ridiculous to have this camera mounted on a tripd (as I did last night taking skyline shots at dusk) and that you don’t have the ‘professional’ look of sdomeone carrying a large camera with a big lens, which sometimes is useful getting access to normally unavailable areas for tourists.
QUALITY
Sony has been improving the quality of its digital cameras steadily for the last few years. In February of 2011 I got a HX5V which was quite impressive, and delivered quality images even when compared with a DSLR except for low-light and other tricky situations. I traded it for a Canon PowerShot S95 which was a step ahead but still suffered from high noise levels in low light settings.
What makes this camera unique is a 1” CMOS sensor. It is the only camera in this class or in similar size with a sensor this big. The law of physics is very simple: larger sensor, higher quality and lower noise. Sure you could get a NEX-5 with an even bigger sensor for slightly better quality but you would be stuck with a much, much larger camera, especially because of the size of the lens, and a much higher price.
Combined with a minimum aperture of f/1.8, Carl Zeiss optics and a lot of cool features from Sony such as the Auto HDR and very cool camera effects, it is an amazing camera. After a week of playing with it I am wondering why would the average person need anything more than this camera.
Last, I really love the on-screen information (and the quality of the display), especially the level indicator that helps you shoot straight pictures.
EASE OF USE
Don’t let the power scare you away from this camera. As most point and shoot cameras, this one has an ‘auto’ mode that is usually quite good at getting the right settings for each shot. If you ar enot an expert, you will feel at home with the Sony RX100 camera having used any pocket digital camera, and you will enjoy the high quality it delivers.
I found the menus to be intuitive, the camera feels solid and built with high quality materials.
AREAS OF IMPROVEMENT
Processing speed takes a few seconds, but given the quality of the effects I would be surprised if they took significantly less time. Still, often you have to wait a second or two after a shot if you use advanced in-camera processing such as HDR.
The 3.6 Zoom goes to 105mm I think, which is fine for most situations but could be nice to have a 200mm 9equivalent) zoom. I know adding such a zoom would require a larger lens so I rather keep the portability as is. Further, with 20 megapixels, you can zoom in to your photos easily in post production.
Overall, if you are an experienced hobbyist or a semi-professional photographer looking for a camera to
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22votes
28of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Los Angeles, CA
I've had this product for:less than a month
Best Band for you BUCK
Date:August 15, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: size, portability, censor, everything
Cons: 
Cons: None so far.
This is a great kick started for anyone wanting to get into photography. I am no professional, but I am a geek when it comes to technology and this blows other point and shoots out of the ball park. With its giant censor you get phenomenal micro-shots, which I want to master. I am an novice when it comes to photography, and the Sony store gave me a pass to be taught the ins and outs of how to shoot, use the dialer for iso, and 9 grid. Worth the buy if you want to invest in great quality photos.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6votes
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: chicago, il
I've had this product for:3-6 months
RXellence
Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Sensor size, ease of use, fun, versatile, great
Cons: 
Cons: mild focus hunt, it isn't an rx1
This camera is great!
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+6votes
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: East Coast U.S.
I've had this product for:less than a month
First Day Consumer Review
Date:July 19, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Solid feel, fast lens, easy controls
Cons: 
Cons: manual could be better, intro screens when changing mode dial are annoying
Only had the camera for one day and have shot about 75 pictures so far. Depth of field control and the speed of the glass live up to the hype and I already see the potential to get DSLR quality shots out of this point and shoot. The build quality and feel of the camera are impressive and made in Japan on the bottom still means something to me. It is jeans pocketable and the screen is bright.
The kids like to watch the illustration feature work, but I wouldn't generally use the illustration and other features that modify the image. I've shot a few panaramas but have had trouble getting it to do 360 degrees around, so far the best I've been able to do is 180 or so. Maybe I'll be able to get the little intro screens to go away when I switch modes, but I haven't figured it out yet, not a big deal.
Overall seems like a great camera if I'm only going to carry one on a big vacation and don't want to lug the DSLR.
I'll update the review with more feedback down the road after I get more time with the camera.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+27votes
29of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Akira2000Again
Posted September 4, 2012
Just back from 3 week trip to Japan with the camera and it performed very well. I used the camera heavily many days and never used a full battery. Charging at night every other day was more than sufficient to stay up and running. Light performance was very good and it was always quick to respond. I remain very happy with the camera and hope to use it for many many years to come, build quality seems quite good.
I disagree with others complaining about the door to the charger outlet and the lack of a viewfinder. It's a pocket camera with DSLR features, there are going to be tradeoffs for the size. Be careful opening the charger door and if you want a viewfinder, buy a bigger camera.
The panorama feature was useful and produced some very nice photos with mostly flawless stitching together of scenery. Using this feature with people was hit or miss if the subjects were moving at all. I know this can be done in many photo software packages, but being able to do it in camera was useful on the fly and produced some stunning, print and display poster size images.
I also did finally figure out how to turn off the intro screens for the different functions and I'm slowly finding all of the controls and menus. I picked up the Sony built leather case at a camera shop in Fukuoka and am very happy with the build quality there as well. Its got a classic feel now and is well protected, but has lost a bit of its jeans pocketability.
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Brooklyn, NY
I've had this product for:less than a month
Best Portable Shooter
Date:February 2, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: low-light performance, flash you can point upwards, image quality
Cons: 
Cons: Can't grip with one hand too well. Though there are 3rd party fixes.
I purchased a 4/3's camera a year ago which I thought might be my go too camera to take around an shoot pictures of my dog, kid and scenery. It came with a stock lens that didn't perform well in low light and the quality of image was terrible. Rather than spend another $300 for a fixed lens with a better f-stop I decided to get the RX100.
The RX100 is the perfect camera for shooting kids in action in low light. It has well organized menus and nice button set up. It's a perfect size to carry around and has a nice weight that makes it feel like a quality camera. It takes photos better than my aging DSLR and less than half the size.
Only gripe would be the auto focus doesn't like dogs when there are other humans in the frame.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17votes
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Boston, MA
I've had this product for:less than a month
Best compact camera available
Date:August 10, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Image quality, fast operation, 10fps, fast focus, nice detail/resolution, small/light carry anywhere
Cons: 
Cons: No external battery charger available, battery life, no view finder, no menu option to disable shutter/focus sound
It's the little camera that could. The larger image censor really shines. Excellent detail in images allowing you to zoom in when viewing picture on computer screen to see all the details that the camera captured. Accurate/fast focus, having shot about 2000 outdoors pictures only a couple were blurry/out of focus.
It's so fun to use you would want to buy a backup battery pack so you can shoot the whole day. Nice menu system and controls although video record button can be activated by accident. Popup flash can pop up annoyingly over your finger but can easily be disabled from the controls/menu if you don't plan on using flash (I seldom do).
Image quality is superb right out of the camera. I haven't been able to make much use of RAW but found camera jpeg just perfect.
Continuous shooting is superb at regular speed and shines at 10fps. Having used 10fps shooting on the camera I will not buy any future camera that does not have that feature. Great for capturing 1 sec of fast action such as diving, etc at 10fps.
I have never been a fan of Sony digital cameras before, good electronics not so good image quality? This camera shows that Sony has changed that and image quality and electronics both deliver. It's nice to see Sony changing the rules and is making the best camera it can make rather than hamstring the camera to protect a higher margin DSLR.
It's not perfect but very close to it. LCD can be difficult to see in bright sunshine and if there was one thing I would add to the camera it would be a view finder, but still the camera is very good without one.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33votes
33of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lgarron
Posted August 14, 2012
You *can* disable the audio for focus/shutter sounds. Took me a while to find, but it's there:
Settings, page 2 > Audio signals > Off
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Overland Park, KS
I've had this product for:less than a month
My love affair with Sony cameras continues
Date:February 21, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Lightweight, portal, great lens, mode dial
Cons: 
Cons: Flash can be a little harsh
A while ago I wrote a review on my Alpha A65 - I still love the camera and it takes amazing photos but I travel a lot with my job and it's not always practical to take the A65 with me, so after a lot of research I opted for the RX-100 as my 'short trip' camera. As always, I read a lot of reviews, watched a lot of videos and went to a store to try out the RX-100 and it's nearest competitors before buying.
Yet again, in my opinion, Sony was 'head and shoulders' above the competition.
The RX-100 is a wonderful camera, it goes everywhere with me. The quality of the pictures is incredible and it's low-light capabilities are amazing. The decision to include the Carl Zeiss lens was genius.
I love the dial on the front of the camera for quick access to frequently used functions. I also love the mode dial on the top of the camera - for any regular D-SLT/SLR user, this is a must-have in order to give you the control you want.
The rear display is excellent and I like the ability to be able to tilt the flash and bounce it off of other surfaces.
The other thing that's really handy when you're travelling is that the RX-100 will charge from your USB port - very cool!
I took the photo that I've attached at about 6:30am at Heathrow airport. The light was low, and there was a real contrast between the architecture in the foreground and the windows behind but the RX-100 did a superb job. This is no ordinary 'point and shoot' camera!
Finally, although the recommended RX-100 case was incredibly difficult to get hold of, I think it's great. It's very retro, has an expensive look and feel to it, and most importantly (for me at least) is adds very little to the size of the camera so it's great for travelling.
Hope this helps.
Stuart
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+34votes
35of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Fairfield, CA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Great camera
Date:October 31, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Amazing image quality, compact
Cons: 
Cons: Price
I am by no means a professional photographer- I just wanted a simple, compact camera that takes great quality pictures. I mostly keep it on intelligent auto and I am amazed at how good the quality of the pictures and video are. I am very happy with this purchase.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33votes
35of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: outer space
I've had this product for:less than a month
no instruction manual needed!
Date:September 6, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: everything
Cons: 
Cons: nothing
to everyone complaining about 'no instruction manual', this camera is NOT for you. the RX100 is billed as a professional photographer's 2nd camera, so basically, someone who will pick up the functionality super duper quick.
the RX100 is an amazing machine, my only worry is that my a77, a33 and a65 will become obsolete. i kid, mostly. but that's exactly what the RX100 is capable of, abolishing any other camera you own! 20.2mp! quick charging times! tons and tons of picture effects! amazing 1080 video quality! all in the palm of my hand? shoot, i might buy another...because, you know what they say...the best camera you own, is the one that's ALWAYS in your hand! the RX100 is ALWAYS in my hand. go, right now and buy yours today!!!
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19votes
28of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>