Top-rated product

Product Reviews

none Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100

Overall rating:
4.361 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars:(40)
4 Stars:(12)
3 Stars:(4)
2 Stars:(1)
1 Star:(4)
52 out of 5988%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
Review 1 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ActiveGranDad
From: Indiana
Informative Review
Date:September 26, 2013
I purchased the Sony DSC-RX100B to augment my Sony DSC-HX100B. I am NOT a professional photographer. More aptly, an avid hobbyist and primarily shoot outdoor scenes. I use my kayak to go where other photographers fear to tread.
My main purpose for purchasing the RX-100 was to acquire a camera that would shoot in RAW format and not sacrifice, what I believe to be, the outstanding quality of the Zeiss lenses. In the suite I use for Post Production, no not the expensive well known brand name, I do very little to compensate for lens aberration. A secondary purpose was to have a device that was more compact than the 100B. I really love my HX100B and If I were to make a choice again, I would probably go with the second incantation of the RX100. Of course, the RX1 would be the ultimate tool, but I am too frugal. Having the availability of a tilting LCD is a very big plus and is probably the feature I miss the most. On my HX100 I have developed the habit of using the EVF. When shooting from my tripod, which extends above my head, for higher shots, it is really beneficial to have a LCD that will tilt down so I can frame the shot accurately. It is also a nice feature when shooting from low levels and on bright sunlit days to reduce glare. The RX100 does a decent job with the increased clarity of the LCD and the option to control its brightness.
I am becoming a big fan of HDR images. The availability of White Balance bracketed shots is really good on both Sony cameras. My software handles this task well. I can even use a single RAW image to achieve the same result. It will split the channels of the image and then process it as if it were 3 images. I am pleased with my RX100 with the exception of the tilting LCD. If anyone wishes, you may contact me, except for commercial purposes, at activegrandad at that gmail dot com. I will be happy to attempt answering your questions and sharing my experiences.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4votes
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
TheFunk
Really, Sony? Are you kidding?
Date:September 11, 2013
This camera takes great pictures and has many amazing features... but how could Sony not pay attention to detail?
Seriously!
You can't adjust the timer for more than 10 seconds! Sometimes I want to take a picture of myself someplace; I set the timer, and I can't make it into the frame in 10 seconds. Why isn't an adjustable timer up to 30 seconds a STANDARD FEATURE? This seems like a no-brainer that Sony completely missed. But meanwhile, you can use 100 different HDR settings... great... too bad you can't use the timer in HDR! WHAT THE HECK!? How hard is it to let the camera use the timer in HDR? Canon has had that ability for YEARS!
Another problem: the so-called intelligent auto setting won't default to the "vivid/warm" color setting. Every time you turn off the camera, and turn it back on, you have to re-adjust to turn up or down the warmth/vividness settings. UGH!
I'm so disappointed with these features... mostly because it means I have to carry two cameras now, my old Canon and my new Sony, because I sure as heck can't use the worthless timer on the Sony... What a pain in the butt. Thanks Sony.
-44votes
27of 98voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
Presales
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hosmanathosman
From: ISTANBUL IST
I've had this product for:less than a month
Sharpness, dynamism, depth
Date:August 4, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: ıso,colors,brıgthness,full image instruction
Cons: 
Cons: mobile charger, lower ıso as 50-65
I had it a few days ago and I took more than 300 shots...this is what I was searching...I had more experiences by widely shooting and can be said it is fantastic and easy to use. aparatus. I always use as manuel except the focus and I saw that the image qualities breaken rules even it's small 1^" sensor. The dynamic range is wide and the structural forms are just as origin. No doubt at the pictures colors particularly the wb adjaustement is correcty and you can adjust simply the better...Now I am planning to have a DSC-RX 1R maybe I can wait till it's new version with interchangeble lense capacity. I suggest and recommend frankly to all photo lovers to have one from RX-100 portable, easy to use and amazing pictures you can take.. Even with pe-programmed scenes...
+12votes
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChefZ
From: Oregon
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Best pocket DSLR on the market!
Date:July 31, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Great picture quality, fits in pocket, metal body
Cons: 
Cons: Price
I recently purchased my rx-100 because I was tired of lugging around a camera bag everywhere. After seeing many reviews and awards this camera received, I knew I needed one. I can't believe how awesome my photos turn out. I bought an alpha a77 last week and the pics from my rx-100 are just as good if not better! If you want dslr quality pics in a point and shoot, the rx-100 is for you!
+18votes
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MonikaPhotoLife
From: Miami Beach, FL
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Five stars big time!!!!!!!
Date:June 11, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: small, light, great performance in low light, fast
Cons: 
Cons: fragile flash, confusing settings and missing manual
As semi-professional photographer I am a NIKON shooter. I own few lenses and shoot mostly concerts, events and high fashion. For a long time I was looking for a good small TO-GO camera that will be sharp in low light situations as I am guest on many events all over FL not only when working and covering it for local magainze but privet for my blog Miami Photo Life. From the moment I start shooting with RX100 I was ....wooooooowww what is this??? Amazing!!! Hands down! Fast, sharp, great colors, ISO on high settings looks still good, picture stabilization - outstanding!!! On my blog I post short photo review so you can have a look (http://monikaphotolife.zenfolio.com/blog/2013/5/hands-on-sony-dsc-rx100) :))) I am in love with that little Sony ! This camera is always ready to shoot in a speed of a second! :)))
www.monikaphotolife.com
www.miamiphotolife.com
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+25votes
26of 27voted this as helpful.
Response from SonyBy KatieSony ElectronicsJune 14, 2013
AWESOME! Thanks for sharing!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
twinkle15
From: New York, NY
I've had this product for:1-3 months
WORTH THE INVESTMENT
Date:June 10, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Compact, Great quality pictures
Cons: 
Cons: Lacking some kind of grip, Outlet door for USB cable a bit flimsy
I am no professional. I just wanted a nice camera for great memories. I did not want to spend on a point and shoot that would be deemed useless in short time. I wanted to spend wisely and be satisfied for quite some time. I hesitated because of the price point but still took the chance after considerable research.
This camera is AMAZING, the picture quality is SUPERB for such a point and shoot. DSLR quality for sure!! EXCELLENT for low light, it focuses really fast. I use it mostly in the automatic settings and it chooses the appropriate scenes at ease. It adjusts the light very well for a picture. Beautiful! Very happy!!!
For the premium, I just wished Sony included an external battery charger.
Get a good protector for your camera!!!
+14votes
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
techluvr
From: Clifton, NJ
I've had this product for:3-6 months
Best Compact Camera with one flaw...
Date:June 4, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Excellent pictures in bright and low light.
Cons: 
Cons: Built in flash.
While shopping for a compact camera, I considered buying a Canon until the salesperson showed me the RX100. I was suprised by the size and build of the camera. It just felt solid. All the specificiations are top notch. How could you go wrong? You throw in a pop up flash that gets in the way of holding the camera. If it was built in, there would be less of chance of your hand getting in the way. The other problem is that it is very flimsy and can be easily twisted or broken. It just doesn't match the excellent build quality of the rest of the camera. I usually tweak the setting in low light situations to avoid using the flash altogether.
After having said all that. I definitely recommend this camera for its compact size, large image sensor and Carl Zeiss len with a very low aperature.
+16votes
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MariaG
Posted July 31, 2013
Agree on the flimsy flash! Just bought camera and got it on July 2. I LOVE it....but, flash broke while on vacation in Disney on 7/16. I did not drop it and had it in a case. So frustrating!! Thankfully I was able to stick my fingernail in the corner and kinda pry it up when needed (which was a lot). I am now sending a brand new camera in to Sony for repair. Not pleased with that at all!
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Otakusan
From: Edmonton, AB
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Powerful for it's size
Date:June 3, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Compact, powerful, reasonable price
Cons: 
Cons: Short Battery Life, no optical view finder
I spent 2 hours in the SONY Store playing with this camera and took one hope right after. I am very happy with what this tiny package can provide. The construction is also very solid. I specially enjoy the F1.8 at full wide this lens can offer, as well as the pop up flash that you can hold back with your finger so that it points up acting like a bounce flash. I also enjoy the front and rear dial on the camera that allows you go easily change settings on the fly.
ONE NOTE TO SONY!! PLEASE make a waterproof case for this camera.
+9votes
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MyRX100BrokeDown
From: Victoria BC Canada
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Great Camera but had to send it for repair
Date:April 1, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Great IQ; very fast autofocus
Cons: 
Cons: recently had to send it for a repair
The online, in-depth reviews are accurate. This camera is the best I've used in terms of combining compact size, IQ and fast focus. The latter is the main reason I spent the big bucks and it did not disappoint in this regard. It is significantly faster than a Canon S110 for example. The images are stunning, again, the best I've ever had from the cameras I've owned. Unfortunately the focusing motor has recently started to malfunction on mine - it either can't find focus or won't stop engaging once it's found focus and I've just sent it for repair. This doesn't appear to be a common problem so I would still recommend the RX100. The cost to performance does seem a bit on the high side but if you can afford it, it's worth it. Hopefully Sony's repair service is good.
+31votes
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warrenm
From: CA
I've had this product for:less than a month
Awesome
Date:March 20, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Low light
Cons: 
Cons: havnt found any yet
Got this camera as i have small children and taking photos indoors has always been a problem. photos are usually blurry or you have to use a flash which isnt great.
The RX100 out of the box in Auto mode was good but then I found that there is actually a mode for low light indoors that pushes up the ISO slightly higher and the results are excellent.
+25votes
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THECOZ
From: Canada
I've had this product for:6-12 months
My Go To Camera
Date:February 24, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Picture and Build Quality
Cons: 
Cons: None
Best camera i have owned. I have had the likes of Canon G10, Pentax SLR and many others. This camera is the go to for me. Amazing picture quality and everything you will ever need to capture a still or moving object. Amazing features. Great value.
+19votes
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart
From: Overland Park, KS
I've had this product for:less than a month
My love affair with Sony cameras continues
Date:February 21, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Lightweight, portal, great lens, mode dial
Cons: 
Cons: Flash can be a little harsh
A while ago I wrote a review on my Alpha A65 - I still love the camera and it takes amazing photos but I travel a lot with my job and it's not always practical to take the A65 with me, so after a lot of research I opted for the RX-100 as my 'short trip' camera. As always, I read a lot of reviews, watched a lot of videos and went to a store to try out the RX-100 and it's nearest competitors before buying.
Yet again, in my opinion, Sony was 'head and shoulders' above the competition.
The RX-100 is a wonderful camera, it goes everywhere with me. The quality of the pictures is incredible and it's low-light capabilities are amazing. The decision to include the Carl Zeiss lens was genius.
I love the dial on the front of the camera for quick access to frequently used functions. I also love the mode dial on the top of the camera - for any regular D-SLT/SLR user, this is a must-have in order to give you the control you want.
The rear display is excellent and I like the ability to be able to tilt the flash and bounce it off of other surfaces.
The other thing that's really handy when you're travelling is that the RX-100 will charge from your USB port - very cool!
I took the photo that I've attached at about 6:30am at Heathrow airport. The light was low, and there was a real contrast between the architecture in the foreground and the windows behind but the RX-100 did a superb job. This is no ordinary 'point and shoot' camera!
Finally, although the recommended RX-100 case was incredibly difficult to get hold of, I think it's great. It's very retro, has an expensive look and feel to it, and most importantly (for me at least) is adds very little to the size of the camera so it's great for travelling.
Hope this helps.
Stuart
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32votes
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SeattleTay
From: Seattle, WA
I've had this product for:less than a month
Excellent Quality - Rockin Features
Date:February 18, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Outstanding Photo Quality, High Range of Options
Cons: 
Cons: Slippery - Lack of Grip, Menu is a bit complicated
Recently purchased both the Canon S-110 and this Sony RX-100 and by far the Sony wins! The image quality is beyond fantastic and the ability to customize your shooting experience is unsurpassed on any other point and shoot style camera.
+12votes
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
suturegirl
From: Coastal Virginia
I've had this product for:less than a month
More than I hoped for
Date:February 13, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Picture quality, compact size, PSAM modes, flexible flash.
Cons: 
Cons: minor ergonomics
I have a Sony a550 DSLR which I enjoy thoroughly, but I wanted a good point and shoot to have on me at all times. Honestly, I figured I would look at other brands just to try something else. Then I googled "best point and shoot" and lo and behold this little wonder appeared. After watching numerous review videos by long time *coughCannonandNikoncough* users that were completely blown away by the RX100 I was pretty sure it was exactly what I was looking for. And, it was a Sony *grin* gotta love the irony.
If you want the best point and shoot out there, this is it. I still can't believe the amazing picture quality!!! Honestly, I can't afford the Zeiss lenses for my a550 so having one on this sometimes produces better quality than my DSLR.
Also, it is a sexy little pocket rocket. I pop it in my purse and hardly know it's there. I sling it on my shoulder and it's light as a feather and right at my finger tips all the time.
As for the ergonomics, I have accidentally pushed the video button a few times. I figure in time I'll get used to where it is and this won't happen.
This is for you if you don't need an(other) interchangeable lens system, or simply want to upgrade to the best P&S out there. Equally usable for pros, hobbyists and just for fun shooters.
Love, love, love this mighty mouse.
+29votes
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jerrydoes
From: Brooklyn, NY
I've had this product for:less than a month
Best Portable Shooter
Date:February 2, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: low-light performance, flash you can point upwards, image quality
Cons: 
Cons: Can't grip with one hand too well. Though there are 3rd party fixes.
I purchased a 4/3's camera a year ago which I thought might be my go too camera to take around an shoot pictures of my dog, kid and scenery. It came with a stock lens that didn't perform well in low light and the quality of image was terrible. Rather than spend another $300 for a fixed lens with a better f-stop I decided to get the RX100.
The RX100 is the perfect camera for shooting kids in action in low light. It has well organized menus and nice button set up. It's a perfect size to carry around and has a nice weight that makes it feel like a quality camera. It takes photos better than my aging DSLR and less than half the size.
Only gripe would be the auto focus doesn't like dogs when there are other humans in the frame.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15votes
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
michaejlt
From: San Antonio, Texas
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Pocket Rocket of a Digital Camera!!
Date:January 19, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Excellent images, easy to use
Cons: 
Cons: Price, however once in your hands it is worth every penny.
I take my camera to my work and taking photos of my grand children at play.
Great second camera to go along with your primary DSLR.
Having said that I find myself bringing out this little bad boy instead of my large-heavy bigger brother the DSLR.
Take great sharp images...I recommend this camera highly.
+22votes
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
unlearny
From: chicago, il
I've had this product for:3-6 months
RXellence
Date:December 26, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Sensor size, ease of use, fun, versatile, great
Cons: 
Cons: mild focus hunt, it isn't an rx1
This camera is great!
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+6votes
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LawyerJCG
From: Atlanta, GA
I've had this product for:3-6 months
Best of both worlds
Date:November 15, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: excellent flash performance; compact size
Cons: 
Cons: zoom could be longer
I take a camera with me almost everywhere I go and there are many times when a DSLR is simply too large. My Canon S95 got fried when my wife dropped it in the Dead Sea (!) so I needed a replacement. The biggest issue with prior compact cameras has been indoor flash performance. The RX100 solves this problem. This camera can substitute for your DSLR in just about every situation and since it is smaller and lighter, you are more likely to take it and use it.
+38votes
40of 42voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Alikcee
Posted December 31, 2012
Hi ! I am reading your review, I read that you went to Holy Land Dead Sea. I am looking forward to our trip going there on May, I am very excited. I bought my new camera Sony HX200V but this is very slow. I am thinking getting this before we leave. It is worth it ? Thanks
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liberator
From: Jacksonville, FL
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Best Small Camera Ever
Date:November 13, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Impressive Image Quality
Cons: 
Cons: Flash Location, Lack of Owner's Manual
I have owned this camera for several months now. I got the camera for personal use and for work. Most of my initial shots were of work stuff so I was not immediately impressed. However, once I started using it for personal use the quality of the camera was stunning.
Size Matters - this large sensor is capable of impressive image captures that the normal point & shoot can't compete with.
Recently I was at a family gathering where the other family members had point & shoots and one DSLR. I compared my shots to others taken of the same subject with the other cameras including a Canon Rebel and couldn't believe the difference. This little Sony far out-shined the APS-C sensor of Canon and simply blew away the point & shoots. The detail was phenominal, the contrast and color saturation were incredible.
Sony has hit a home run with this camera. I would recommend it to anyone that is looking for something more than just the ordinary point & shoot.
+55votes
56of 57voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cyber-shot Digital Camera RX100
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BuddyR
From: Fairfield, CA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Great camera
Date:October 31, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Amazing image quality, compact
Cons: 
Cons: Price
I am by no means a professional photographer- I just wanted a simple, compact camera that takes great quality pictures. I mostly keep it on intelligent auto and I am amazed at how good the quality of the pictures and video are. I am very happy with this purchase.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33votes
34of 35voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>