Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

SVF15A190X Premium

VAIO Fit 15 Custom Laptop
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars:(5)
4 Stars:(6)
3 Stars:(3)
2 Stars:(1)
1 Star:(3)
1 out of 250%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for SVF15A190X Premium
Review 1 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: Brooklyn, NY
A pretty car with a powerful engine.. but no wheel
Date:August 21, 2013
I configured mine to be reliable, fast, and powerful. It was expensive. I paid as much as I would have for something on the Apple store (which is where I usually buy my computers and electronics). The computer itself is very powerful and fast.. but running it on Windows 8 makes it almost worthless.
I've contemplated returning it since I've gotten it, but I imagine that's because my 4 year old macbook pro is still doing just fine and I'm able to switch between the two anytime I truly get frustrated. My hope is that when they update Windows 8, it becomes usable.
Sony isn't the problem here, it's Microsoft. This OS should not be out of beta. Not even close. By releasing this to the public they are going to lose a ton of customers in the long-term. If you're going to buy Sony, at least try to get Windows 7 or a computer that you can downgrade with. If not, try to hold out for the Windows 8 update.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: University of Wyoming, Laramie, WY
Very Nice Product
Date:August 24, 2013
While I've never owned a Sony product before, I am very satisfied with the purchase of my Sony Vaio laptop. I typically tend to keep to desktops and actually built my own current desktop computer, but on a budget and by the nature of laptops such was impossible. I needed a portable computer for college with quite a bit of power to meet my computer demanding courses and lifestyle, and am quite happy with the product I customized and received. The touchscreen is nice and fluid, the operation is fast and sleek, and overall it looks and feels pleasing to use. Ports are comfortably spaced, Blu-Ray drive works without a hitch. I would and did recommend to a friend, another incoming college student, who is very happy with his as well. Slight issues on occasion with the touch screen getting stuck with one or more points pressed down, but easily fixable by powering down the machine and turning it back on. Has failed to go into sleep mode a couple of times, but only while plugged in, meaning it did not cost me any battery life. The pricing was competitive, particularly with the student discount, when compared to Dell, HP and Samsung products. Good marks across the board.
-1vote
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Los Angeles, CA
Overall Great Laptop but WLAN card is unreliable.
Date:August 22, 2013
I choose the fit because of the touch screen option with Windows 8. I customized the computer the way I wanted it due to upgrades promotion they had at the time. Style is great, back lit is pretty cool. Touch screen is a must for Windows 8, so it works great. The only big problem is the WLAN. It does not connect to the internet well. Sometimes it is ok but I get a lot of "could not load page" and Netflix is slow. Even at close proximity to the network it is very slow. I tried Speedtest and it is only half of what my old vaio computer can do. Sometimes it is less than 1 MB. It was actually working well in the beginning but it seems to be getting worse. This is a deal breaker for me though as I am on the internet all the time. Sony please resolve this issue and I would rate this comp 5 stars.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: joplin, mo
Great computer. A few complaints
Date:October 1, 2013
I love the case and most things work great. Everybody complains about windows 8, but I found it easy to adapt to. The touch screen is helpful for certain programs.
cons: The touch pad is off-set to the left. This makes no sense and is difficult and uncomfortable to use. It would also be much better if they had a "left-click" and "right-click" button on the pad. I find myself clicking multiple times to just click it right. The touch pad is the worst thing about this computer.
The computer freezes every few hours for no reason. Nothing will un-freeze it except holding to power button to restart. It even freezes while using only solitaire! No good.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: Parkland, FL
Somethings that I do not like...
Date:September 27, 2013
My previous Sony VAIO (VPC-EB190S) Keyboard was a lot more comfortable. As well the wifi on this new laptop takes sometime to revive or reconnect after being awaken from sleep. As well I have hearing that there is an echo whenever I am calling using Google talk or Skype. It has frozen on me once as well.
This is a business laptop that I am about to take on the road. So we will see how it fairs. My previous laptop was a star. The only reason why I am replacing it was because of weight and some of the additional features that these newer laptops have today. ie backlit keyboard. usb3.etc.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lokilewisagain
Posted October 5, 2013
As I am preparing my laptop for use on the road. I am seeing a few things here. As noted in the previous posting there is a WIFI issue. To address the WIFI taking a while to come back online and detect the WIFI network I have disabled the sleep mode on the Wireless adapter. This is a power saving setting. This is my choice as I am ok with using whatever power it consumes to have this up and running.
There is another WIFI issue. The laptop was only connecting at 65 Mbps. There was a minor tweek that I did that provided a 150 Mbps connection. Sony is aware that there is also an issue not connecting at 300 Mbps as the Broadcom adapter should be able to connect to that Wireless N speed (given that you have the router to support). BTW. If you download the driver from the SONY site it may or may not work. In my case it did not. I tried drivers from both the Sony site as well from the Broadcom site. In any case, Sony is sending out a free wireless N300 dongle which once connected to your USB port will provide you 300 Mbps connection. kudos to Sony for owning that. Of course the only issue is that you are using 1 of three usb ports. I use one other for my mouse. leaving me only one available.
The other issue that I found was with the mic. I am speculating that the design of the laptop had the mic too close to the speaker or the mic is too sensitive. Unless software handles this issue (as I believe that SKYPE does) not Google talk / Chat / Hangout. The person of whom you are speaking with will hear an echo of their voice. There is a sound gauge on the Google talk/Hangout session that indicates that there is sound as well as the intensity of the sound. Unfortunately the gauge does reveal that sound is being replicated by the caller on the other end. in short, it shows the gauge increasing as if you were speaking. Hence an echo on the receiving end. I have tried to reduce the sound of my speaker to a point where I can barely hear it. But unfortunately I believe that if there is no resolve to this, Sony may end up tell its consumers to use a headset or an stand-alone mic. This would be unfortunate because I do use my laptop for all my calls and have been doing so since Google Voice / Chat / Talk was first introduced.
I am a bit disappointed with Sony because they have discontinued the "S" series laptop. Which was primarily the 15 inch business choice. From what I heard the FIT laptop coined just that as it was suppose to "FIT" every users need. Both business and personal. So far my assessment does not lean towards that. It is disheartening because my previous VAIO was a real road warrior. I never had any issues with it. As mentioned I only replaced it for newer tech's now present in most laptops.
Bit of a length post. However if anyone else has some feedback on this. Please post.
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: College Station, TX
I've had this product for:less than a month
great design,but bluetooth disconnect frequently
Date:July 13, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: design is great
Cons: 
Cons: bluetooth disconnect frequently,backlit can not control by kayboard
My dell BT Travel mouse can connect the laptop by bluetooth, every function is fine. But after a while, maybe 10 minutes or maybe 40 minutes , the bluetooth will disconnect with the mouse. After entering the Pc setting-->devices and searching devices, the mouse will be connected again. The issue would repeated again and I can't find any pattern.
I had upgraded driver version of BCM43142 to 12.0.0.6261 and 12.0.0.7030, the issue repeated again.
My DELL BT Travel mouse works perfectly on my Thinkpad laptop and DELL laptop.
I am disappointed.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Response from SonyBy KatieSony ElectronicsJuly 15, 2013
Thank you for letting us know and we apologize for the Bluetooth connectivity issues. There is some information regarding Bluetooth on our esupport.sony.com site. Also, we invite you to call our technical support group to see if there is anything we can do to assist. 1-239-245-6313. Thank you!
Review 7 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Laptop
Date:August 22, 2013
i been having this laptop for the past two weeks already. Custom laptop. everything works really well. I sure enjoy the touchscreen, is very helpful and fun to use. The touch pad is good but not great. i have trouble with the the right side touch, it doesnt respond how i wanted to know. other than that the vaio fit is a nice very useful laptop. I been buying Sony products for the past 20 years and till this day they havent disappoint me.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Rochester, ny
Bad Screen and Mouse Pad
Date:October 7, 2013
We have used many Sony laptops for the past 10 years. We have seen the best, and we have seen the worst. This laptop here costs $1400, which is one of the most expensive ones we had. However, it is definitely not the best one. The screen in this machine is just a very cheap screen, on par with acer quality.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Denver
Awesome Laptop
Date:September 30, 2013
I love my new laptop, two concerns the battery life isn't that great. The charge doesn't last as long as I would like it seems to only last about 4 hours before I need to plug it in. Also the bottom of the laptop feels flimsy. I'm worried about it cracking. Otherwise I love it!
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: Fargo ND
Great Product
Date:August 21, 2013
I've got nothing but good things to say about this vaio. It's been incredibly fast and very reliable. I haven't had it for very long so i'm hoping that it continues to impress. The only downside to this computer is the battery life isn't that great. It doesn't matter so much to me as i'm usually around an outlet but it would be nice if lasted a little longer.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: jersey shore
I've had this product for:less than a month
Simply a excellent laptop
Date:July 29, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Everything from the start-up to the sound
Cons: 
Cons: Windows 8 which takes time learn
Having laptops before and have used some of the new laptops out in the market the Vaio Fit is simply the best.I could not have been happier with my purchase and it's amazing.The only drawback is the learning curve with windows 8.It's hard to find stuff when you work with it for the first time.Other then that Sony has built another great laptop in the Vaio Fit 15.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed
Date:September 9, 2013
I received the computer less than a week, and then i had to drive more than a hour to take it back to the store. The reason is that after failed to restart for a whole night, everything on my laptop disappeared, and it is seriously everthing.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: Houston, TX
Fast, but component problems, black not good
Date:August 24, 2013
Customized order Jul 4, recvd Jul 16. i7 proc, 2GB video, touch screen, 8GB RAM, HDD with (only) 8GB SSD, as Sony STOPPED offering larger SSD partitions.
Big improvement over last non-Sony laptop when streaming TV shows from network TV websites using HDMI to TV - no latency at all over 801.11G wireless. Stays fairly cool.
But... received with a bad pixel near middle of display, keyboard backlight did not work, and after about a week, wireless would drop to lower speed or completely out (while sitting in same chair with no movement that might affect the signal).
I was also misled by the website description/info that implied the case was all aluminum and the touch screen was glass. Only the LID is aluminum and the touch screen does not FEEL like glass.
And the black finish? What a fingerprint and smudge MAGNET! Also, don't like the fact that the combo button/touchpad is way to the left, and that the buttons are part of the pad, not separate. And it is hard to get used to vertical scrolling opposite of what was done in previous laptop and Windows 7 (it makes sense though as it agrees with scrolling on the touch screen#.
Unit was shipped back for repair and 3 parts were supposed to be replaced but were on backorder and no ETA on one of the parts. Decided to move on.
TRIED to get Sony to replace it with a silver model with same specs while it was at their Laredo facility, but they would not. In order to receive a REFUND, it had to be shipped BACK to me and then shipped back to them again with an RMA #went to the SAME facility!!!).
Have done that and received refund. Am looking at other brands, now, but will consider re-ordering a SILVER Fit 15, and hope it has better quality control and reliability!
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: san diego
best laptop design
Date:September 9, 2013
This laptop looks good and when upgraded to the max, it is flying... only bad news: serious slow performance on WIFI where the cheap broadcom chip set is terrible and no upgrade is possible.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Horrible Product
Date:September 5, 2013
I would not recommend this product to anyone. My computer went bad with in a few days of buying it had to send it back but my brother had gotten one also and two weeks after that his quit working.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the laptop
Date:September 19, 2013
I love my new laptop, but I detest how it keeps kicking me offline because the Internet connection isn't strong.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Nashville, TN
Love my new Laptop!!
Date:September 10, 2013
Love the touchscreen!! The computer is sooo fast. Still learning Windows 8 and how to use some of the Sony Apps, but am enjoying the learning process!!
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SVF15A190X Premium
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: Sunny Isles Beach,FL
Date:September 29, 2013
Nice, works great!
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.