Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

DSC-W730/L

Cyber-shot Digital Camera W730
Overall rating:
4.529 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars:(12)
4 Stars:(4)
3 Stars:(0)
2 Stars:(0)
1 Star:(1)
1 out of 250%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend
Customer reviews for DSC-W730/L
Review 1 for DSC-W730/L
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Vancouver
I've had this product for:less than a month
Good, not great.
Date:August 13, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Great camera for the first 2 weeks.
Cons: 
Cons: Slow.
I bout the camera about 3 weeks ago to take with me on holidays. It was really good but then this last week. It's been acting funny, like when I go to take a pic it tells me to wait and takes about a minute to reload, when I turn it off it takes about 30-50 seconds after I press the button to go off, when i zoom in it never zooms out the first try, and the screen turns white about 10-15 seconds at times. Like I will try to take a pic so I aim it to shoot and sometimes it shows the pic then I take it and it ends up being white. Other times it will be white when I aim it. Also some functions don't work. But it also does have some good things, like fast charging, amazing panorama, and clear vivid photos. But i find it funny how it starts acting like that after the 2 week warranty for the store expires!).
+13votes
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DSC-W730/L
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Southeast Michigan
I've had this product for:less than a month
Powerful and Easy
Date:June 29, 2013
Pros: 
Pros: Ease of use, price, features, weight, image and video quality
Cons: 
Cons: Proprietary adapter, battery
I bought the blue camera last week. Nice color - I wish I had a car this color, which is an indigo/violet shade.
I also purchased a soft case, a 32GB Sony SD card, and viewscreen protector film.
Camera is very easy to set up and use. With the USB cable, you can view/download images and video on any USB equipped device (computer, DVD/Blue-Ray player, game system, etc.). Image and video quality is terrific on my 50-inch LED TV.
Instruction manual has tiny print. Instructions are anemic. In-camera instructions are helpful. Viewscreen is impossible to see in direct sunlight (most LCDs are, though).
PlayMemories software was easy to download, once I could actually find the correct URL online (tiny print in manual was easy to misread). Software features a nice function that only downloads new images and video. I have professional editing software, so I haven't tried the PlayMemories editing tools.
Images are a bit noisy and soft at 100% magnification. Face/subject recognition is nice; slight delay while camera computes all the right settings for image/flash. Flash images tend to be warm (red cast) maybe due to redeye lamp feature.
All-in-all, a handy little sidekick that takes great pictures and video - much better than mobile devices/phonecams.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+30votes
32of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DSC-W730/L
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Neshanic Station, New Jersey
Can't beat the cost
Date:August 29, 2013
I'm no expert but it is a terrific camera for recreational use. Was totally impressed with the quality of it for only @$100. This camera was the third of three that won't be getting returned. Only bad thing is it doesn't hold a charge as long as I'd like.Kudos to Sony!
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11votes
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: San Francisco
Another Winner from Sony
Date:September 18, 2013
This camera is high quality and compact. First class as all Sony products are
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10votes
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Little River, SC
An Excellent Value
Date:July 15, 2014
I bought this camera after watching several sample videos online. It didn't let me down. It focuses very clearly and fairly quickly; it holds the focus when I zoom, and it seems to do a good job of taking sharp photos even in low light/high vibration situations, especially using the "ISO" setting. It does have a lens flare issue on the videos and possibly the panorama, but I think I will be able to work with it. Despite this, I think the Carl Zeiss lens gives it an edge. It also has a very solid feel. I bought a camera from a competitor, known for its quality, about two years ago. That camera cost me nearly twice what the Sony did, but does not focus as well. Sony will definitely be on my short list in the future.
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Las Cruces, NM
25 Year Service Award
Date:May 5, 2014
I picked the Sony W730 Digital Camera as my 25-year service award from my employer, General Dynamics, and it hasn't disappointed. The camera is compact and easy to handle and carry. It has a very clear and hi-def color display which produces outstanding images! My 16-year old daughter is actually the person that utilizes it and she raves about it's simple design and ease of use. The camera came with a storage case, wall charger, and user manual. It is a very nice starter camera and we look forward to many years of digital photo memories! Thank you Sony! Sincerely, Billy Colson
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Lorain, Ohio
I love my Sony point and shoot!!!!
Date:May 3, 2014
After years of struggling to "set" a camera of a different brand that was much smarter than I ....and after deciding that fuzzy face after fuzzy face was not the picture I really wanted, I purchased a Sony cyber shot W730. Now, I get clear photos at family reunions and face shots that are crystal clear. I love my camera. On Monday we will be going on vacation..another test for a camera for people like me...memorialize the moment...simply!
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DSC-W730/L
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: DAT RITE
It is worth the price of admission
Date:May 3, 2014
Great little all around digital camera for what I paid for. HD 720p movie recording. My biggest grip about it is when I zoom in and out when recording in movie mode, the motor is picked up on the mic. The sound of the video is decent enough, but I am looking at the Sony HDR MV1 Music Video Recorder in the future...so Sony hook me up !!!! ...I tried to up load a picture I took with camera, but it says it was too large..!!
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Lowcountry, SC
Love it!
Date:May 10, 2014
My old digital camera was used and I didn't have a book to know how to use it well. It was heavy and hard for me to hold steady, so I was looking for a lighter, easy to use digital camera. The Sony W730 was suggested by one of the electronics clerks as she owned one and liked it, so I bought the blue one. It has been a joy to use and simple to figure out. It takes nice photos as well! I would suggest it to anyone who likes to take family pictures - it is a very savvy camera and self-adjusts to different lights and situations.
+2votes
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Norman, OK
W730
Date:May 5, 2014
I purchased three of these cameras form my children to take on a cruise to record their adventures. They used them to take excellent underwater pictures, zip line and fun pictures around the ship and on shore at the various ports. They were able to transfer pictures to their various online media to share with friends.
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: North Carolina
Great camera
Date:May 8, 2014
Sony always makes an awesome camera. This one was a great price for a great package deal. I still have my old Cybershot, now being used as a back up, but I love my new one.
+1vote
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for DSC-W730/L
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Orlando,Fl
terrible
Date:September 25, 2013
It broke day 3 of our south American vacation!!! I stopped in the airport at Lima and bought another one and it had problems also!
I'm busy at work but plan on returning it as soon as possible!
-3votes
9of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Tampa, Fl
2nd Sony Cybershot
Date:May 5, 2014
I purchased a Sony Cyber shot for work use and loved it. When I retired last year the work camera had to be turned in. I went out and bought another Cyber shot for my retirement trips and am using it right now in Costa Rica.
0votes
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: San Mateo CA
Excellent Camera!
Date:May 3, 2014
This is an excellent camera. It takes beautiful pictures, wide angle, and videos,
It's small and easy to handle.
I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone looking for a nice looking digital camera.
0votes
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: London, ohio
Love it
Date:May 3, 2014
Love this camera it takes excellent pics.
Would recommend this camera to everyone
0votes
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: menomonie, wi
I like this camara very well
Date:May 3, 2014
My sister has one and I liked how hers took pictures so I decided to buy one.
0votes
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for DSC-W730/L
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: salt lake city ,ut
Exellent camera
Date:May 3, 2014
this product is very excellent , good battery life, and easy to set up.
0votes
1of 2voted this as helpful.