Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

MN2

SmartWatch
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars:(5)
4 Stars:(2)
3 Stars:(2)
2 Stars:(3)
1 Star:(0)
8 out of 1267%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend
Customer reviews for MN2
Review 1 for MN2
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: New York, NY
I've had this product for:less than a month
Review of the SmartWatch
Date:April 12, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: easy to use, very useful, better then live view
Cons: 
Cons: doesn't support media on its own, range only 30 ft apps are limited not fully functional with all android phones
I just received my smart watch today and right away I started using it. At first sight it was very tiny not thick at all I wear normal watches a lot larger then this. It was very easy to set up the instructions are very easy to follow. The use of it for me is good because I'm at work or school 90% of my day and I just can't pull out my phone for every single vibrate and this eliminates that completely. I can screen my calls, text, emails. I can check the weather very quickly and and even for fun I can view my Facebook and twitter. Although you can not update anything or send out text that feature wouldn't make sense on that small screen anyways. The fact that I can connect a bluetooth device while the watch also uses bluetooth was the best part bc now i can just listen to music VIA bluetooth and control my playlist through the watch or answer any calls and not pull out my phone. I wished the range from the watch to the phone was longer and that defeats the purpose of find my phone app because within 30ft I will probably know where my phone is. Im currently using a Samsung Galaxy and everything was compatible except answering the call. I can mute my ringer, reject the call view it, make the call but not answer it. So not all features work with all phones. The only other downside I have experience in this short time is that the rubber strap is not the best quality. It attracts dirt very quickly and seem very cheap. I ordered the black and white strap but I regret it because the device comes with it's own attachment to another strap I would like to use so that is something I'm looking into now. The screen gets dirty with the finger prints constantly so i hope there will be a screen protector soon. I also wished the smart watch used a micro usb charger instead of it's own type of charger because that means if that breaks I can not charge it without the official wire and I can't charge on the go unless I bring my wire with me. I gave this product 5 stars because for what I need to do it is perfect I love to screen my notifications and thats exactly what this does and you can't beat the price for that.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12votes
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MN2
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: San Diego, Ca
I've had this product for:1-3 months
I enjoy it
Date:May 11, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Style, ease of use and very informative
Cons: 
Cons: Not able to change clock style
I love this watch for the simple fact that my watch notifies me when I get a call or text. With the calls I can determine if I even need to take out my phone. I can read text straight from the watch. Just these very basic features allows me to love this watch. I am about 6 days of battery with light use and turning off after work hours. The one thing I wish is that I could change the clock style to other things, such as using text to represent the time. I did add a new band to the watch thanks to the adapter that Sony includes and I thought it made the watch look much more professional.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MN2
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: New York (Park Ave)
I've had this product for:less than a month
Excellent !
Date:April 21, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Stylish !
Cons: 
Cons: Everything is perfect
Working perfect !
Absolutely much much better the old Sony Ericsson LiveView.
It's fast, smooth and no battery problem.
Thank you Sony.
150$ !!! it's free.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MN2
Presales
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Tampa, FL
Excited, but with a couple reservations.
Date:April 12, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Well designed "Extra", remote control almost any Android phone.
Cons: 
Cons: No gyro or accelerometer. Not fully water resistant.
The watch has some really nice features, but one that I am not seeing is a gyro. The screen I am assuming most of the time would be off in order to preserve battery, and on the side of the watch is the button to turn it on. This product would be so much better if there was a gyro inside allowing the screen to turn on when it detects that you have moved it into a viewing position. Even my Casio watch has this as a switchable function for the backlight. Without that feature it seems like turning the device on just to glance at the time would become a chore. Even without it, it is still a very nice device, but it could be so much better.
I would have also liked for it to be water resistant instead of just splash resistant. I have not had to worry about a watch when going in water for years, also a missed opportunity as I see it.
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
WJCarpenter
Posted April 15, 2012
Pushing a button to be able to see the time is a problem for you? I guess you will not be happy with these 1970's era LED watches. :-) :-)
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 5 for MN2
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: East Haven, CT
I've had this product for:less than a month
Oh God!
Date:April 13, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Looks and feels sleek
Cons: 
Cons: Apps Crash too often
I wanted this watch sooo badly pre-ordered and everything. Now after having it for less than 3 hours I feel like sending it back for a refund. I watched the video followed all the steps. Screen times out before some apps load and feels like they crash watch rebooted 2 times on me after i charged for 2 hrs like the manual says. I have a Samsung Galaxy S 2 and its not an Xperia but its definitely not slow either. Sony covers themselves by saying its only compatible to Xperia products, but should work on Android Phones with specific Android firmware. This may not work for everyone! I recommend this for sony users but not everyone with an android phone!
+19votes
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MN2
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: tampa
I've had this product for:less than a month
CNET - partial review re-posted
Date:April 13, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: unstable
Cons: 
Cons: very slick
First impressions
As you can imagine the Sony SmartWatch's dreamy list of features had me salivating to take it for a spin. My experience in reality, though, was a bit of a rude awakening, and I could get only the basic features of the advanced mobile gadget operational. Setting up the SmartWatch on three different handsets, (Samsung Galaxy Nexus, Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc, and Sony Ericsson Active) was relatively simple and I had the watch up and running in a matter of minutes. Downloading the software was easy going, too, but the problems started when I tried to use most of the Sony SmartWatch's apps.
Any attempt I made to open applications caused the SmartWatch to unceremoniously reboot, lose Bluetooth connection, then reconnect. For example I could play music stored on my phone via the watch's screen but when I tapped the display to pull up buttons for adjusting the volume, the device consistently crashed. The same annoying behavior occurred when I tapped the weather widget or launched the phonebook app from within the app tray. I had no problems with the Facebook, Twitter or messaging apps, though. The SmartWatch even performed the same freakout when it detected an incoming call.
So far, battery life hasn't been stellar, either, with the device getting anywhere from 2 days to 6 hours on a full charge. That certainly doesn't match Sony's claimed longevity of 4 days. To be fair, the issues I encountered are quite possibly due to my SmartWatch review unit running early firmware or even incompatibility with the latest LiveWare software living in the Google Play store. Whatever the cause, I hesitate to recommend the Sony SmartWatch until I get a crack at an actual retail device that hopefully is more stable.
written by Brian Bennett of CNET
+25votes
29of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MN2
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: Cleveland Oh
I've had this product for:less than a month
Could have been great...
Date:April 16, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Apps, Easy set up, small
Cons: 
Cons: daylight viewing, size (height)
You cannot view watch at all in bright sunlight....I mean "0"...watch sits up too high on band really is about 1/2" thick with watch mounted. Advertised as .3"...while the body is .3" ...a clip is permanently attached to the body so its really a 1/2" thick...with or without the band...almost Sony...you needed to have a separate "removable" clip to keep the watch thin...
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MN2
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: West Palm Beach, FL
I've had this product for:less than a month
Needs Improvement
Date:April 13, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Good Concept
Cons: 
Cons: Touchscreen not very responsive, Clock is not always on, Clip might cause issues for right arm wearers
I have worn this watch for several hours and I think the cons might just outweigh the pros.
1. A watch should always display the time. I do not want to have to push a button or tap the screen to see what time it is.
2. The touchscreen is not very responsive to the 2 finger touch. This makes it have to get back to the main menu.
3. I am left handed and wear the watch on my right wrist. The way the watch clips to the band makes me think the face will get caught and could easily snap .
+15votes
20of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MN2
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Columbia SC
I've had this product for:less than a month
I lilke it a lot
Date:April 14, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Sleek, Stylish and User Friendly
Cons: 
Cons: Need more Apps
I like this product alot. Although it was 12 days late arriving. It was well worth the wait. I am the cool kid on the block once again as all my co-workers, friends and family are blown away with the idea that technology has advanced this far.
0votes
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for MN2
Presales
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Troy,MO
impressive product
Date:January 11, 2012
On my first sight I would like it buy as soon as possible ..it looks great ...
-93votes
29of 151voted this as helpful.
Read comments (7)
Comments (7)
Customer avatar
SteveMann
Posted April 20, 2012
But, does it tell the time?
Seriously, if you wander out of BT range from the watch, does it continue to show the time?
Also, does it have a mic and speaker? If my phone is in a briefcase and inaccessible, can I still answer incoming calls?
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
inspector001
Posted April 14, 2012
this product will FAIL BIGTIME because this is a extender of smartphone via bluetooth, design a watchphone and people will spend the money just like the iphone - SMARTPHONE, BUT DUMB IDEA! - iPhone $400 to $600 per unit, SONY DESIGN A WATCHPHONE - CHEAPER AND BETTER - CRUSH APPLE! GIVE THE CONSUMER A CHOICE OF WHAT OS TO USE: ANDRIOD OR WINDOWS MOBILE + A MODEL WITH BUTTONS TO MAKE PHONE CALLS & A MODEL FULL TOUCH SCREEN JUST LIKE iPHONE!
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Xander
Posted April 13, 2012
I like the design but want more features like having a sim card slot(for you to text, and receive text messages and making a call) and a memory card slot(micro sd 16, 32 and/or 64GB space) to store apps, games music and videos. And also a GPS and built-in wifi for internet purposes :)
So that you will no longer need a phone on your pocket. Just a GREAT WATCH that can do more like a phone that can also do multi-tasking.
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Vadalco
Posted April 12, 2012
After the very bad experience I had with the Sony Ericsson LiveView, I'd wait for many reviews to ensure that this works as advertised.
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
topseeded
Posted April 12, 2012
Is the range of the bluetooth the same as a smartphone?
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
HiDee
Posted April 8, 2012
I dont want to be distracted by unfamiliar products so, i pre ordered the watch after series of review .Dont need a first sight because Sony's been way ahead and i have trust in the brand and products.
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
DROIDGUY
Posted March 12, 2012
This device is totally awesome! I'm an avid Android user and having this piece is a attention grabber and conversational piece! Stunning in looks too! Go SONY!
+1vote
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (7)
Read comments (7)
Review 11 for MN2
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: San Diego, CA
I've had this product for:less than a month
Cool product
Date:May 4, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Can see text messages, calls and missed calls
Cons: 
Cons: None
I love this watch, I can finally keep up to date with messages and calls. With an Android phone I never knew if I had missed anything without having to turn on the phone. The setup and pairing was easy. The display is clear and crisp, great idea!
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for MN2
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Clearwater, FL
I've had this product for:less than a month
Better than Liveview (not much though)
Date:April 17, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: -Watch stays connected to your with minimal disconnections, Touchscreen more responsive, Phone apps work a lot better
Cons: 
Cons: -Usb cable is proprietary (they should kept usb micro) which makes for cumbersome charging, Wristband feels cheap
Hello Everyone :)
What I hope to deliver is a sincere & balanced review for old users (Liveview owners) and new users alike. Right away the best thing about this device is that they fixed the disconnection problems that plagued their first smartwatch. I enjoy the metallic finish and simplicity of one button (but miss the battery status indicator led on the older model). Compared to the Liveview included wristband, this is definitely a step up and offers a variety of colors. However, as a smartwatch, I feel it has yet to prove that it possesses an iq above its predecessor. The usb cable included for data/charging will not properly charge the device unless properly aligned. The convenience of the previous micro usb charging on the Liveview is gone. I can no longer charge using my smartphone's charger or cable. The wristbands, though colorful, are of very cheap material that absorb lint beyond belief. You hope that at $20, it would just be better. Sony was nice enough though to include a wristband adapter, giving you the ability to adapt your own band (definitely the way to go). The screen, though sharp and pretty, is barely legible in sunlight. E-ink could have been a better choice, but oh well! I feel as an Android product it has let me down. There is no out box support for the most basic of services, like Gmail. I had to download a 3rd party app to at least get Gmail notifications. I think if you dub a watch an Android smartwatch, it should work great with Google products, maybe even walking directions, but at least email. On the flip side, I will say that the software, Liveware manager, is pretty easy to use and friendly.
Firmware upgrades/software upgrades could be remedy lack of features in the future though. The potential is certainly there. Let's hope Sony continues to push on improving this device or it will just end up being remembered as Liveview 2.0.
I say if you have the money to blow, like I did (I got a nice tax return) then why not? Lol! If your income is not as steady (I was a student once too) then perhaps wait a bit longer.There are other smartwatches coming out late summer (Pebble smartwatch, for example) and you could weigh out a better decision then.
Thank you for reading (sorry English is not even my fourth language; hope everything made sense).
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.