Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

MDR-XB500

Extra Bass Headphones - 40mm
Overall rating:
4.794 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars:(63)
4 Stars:(8)
3 Stars:(0)
2 Stars:(1)
1 Star:(1)
65 out of 7389%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for MDR-XB500
Review 21 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheMusicMan987
I've had this product for:less than a month
Absolutely. Fantastic.
Date:January 2, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Fantastic bass, very comfortable, short cord. Best for hip-hop and Electronic music
Cons: 
Cons: bad for rock and roll, indie. cant wear around your neck easily
These headphones are fantastic. The bass is wonderful. It's like there are two subs right next to your ears. They always tell you to not turn it up to loud, but on occasion, do. It will blow your mind. The cord is nice and short, easy to deal with. The carrying pouch is a great thing to have too. If you are a classic rock fan, or a indie kid, that kind of music doesn't sound as good with these headphones. However, if you like hip- hop, or electronic music, or anything with lots of bass, you will soon fin yourself in heaven. They are by far the best headphones for <$100. A great buy.
+15votes
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Newjerseymostnotoriouz
From: New Jersey
I've had this product for:less than a month
READ ME
Date:December 31, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Bass hits as Promised
Cons: 
Cons: the headphones look solid I recommend you take good care of them
I've had high-end headphones since Around The Ear By Bose I loved them till the wire broke had the AE2 and a friend loved them so much he bought them off me and bought then I got Bose QC 15 and was very disappointing return them and I didn't wanna be like every other young guy and buy a pair of Dr Dre Beat's and just happen to see this little Sony display that lets you try your own music and not just stupid samples I immediately fell in love but my local best buy didn't have any in stock so i went home and started doing research on the human ear and learn it can pic k up between 20 Hertz to 20,000 Hertz the Studio headphones by dr dre deliver 20 hertz to 20,000 hertz not impressive considering that price tag of $299.99 at all these Sony MDR-XB500 deliver 4 hertz to 24,000 hertz I' don't favor brands I like quality the make of these headphones could have been a bit better but the sound is what sold me these headphone I would have love to been able to purchse the Sony MDR-XB700 but i was completely satisfied with the Sony MDR-XB500 so with the money i saved I got some clothing from the ralph lauren website
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14votes
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tobymac
From: Texas
I've had this product for:less than a month
Superb Bass
Date:December 30, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: A TON OF BASS!!!!
Cons: 
Cons: Nothing at all
If you listen to Rock, Pop, Rap, or anything else these are the headphones for it.
These are great headphones for every one!
But if you dont like alot of bass then you might not want these headphones the bass is awesomely over powering (Just like i like it)
5 Stars!!!!! These are Great!
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ryanmc1522
From: ontario, Canada
I've had this product for:less than a month
great purchase worth every penny !!!!
Date:December 28, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: great bass, comfortable as can be, on top of the bass great sound quality
Cons: 
Cons: leaks a small amount of sound not to worry about
I am currently listening to these headphones as I write this review. these headphones have exceptional bass, highs, and mids, overall a very clear sound that bumps when the time comes. I listen to a lot of hip hop and dubstep and these headphones the heavy bass from both music genres. if you are worried about the sound leaking and want to know how loud it actually sounds, just put the headphones around your knee and add a little bit of pressure .....trust me it's not a lot of sound leakage so i wouldn't worry about it. overall these headphones have excelled my expectations especially since I saw them in the store on sale for 49.99 and then looked on here and saw they were 119.99 so I got a fantastic deal and got a great pair of headphones.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
looper
From: tamarac fl
I've had this product for:less than a month
AMAZING
Date:December 25, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: bass is amazing the high and lows are amazing the flat cord is very convient very confortable and nice price
there are the best headphones i ever owed i had skullcandy and beats nothing can even get close to these the bass is amazing these are AMAZING
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StoneTX3
From: Houston, TX
I've had this product for:less than a month
Best headphones for bass lovers.
Date:December 21, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Bass, price, comfort
Cons: 
Cons: Sound leak
I tryed these out at best buy, and as soon as I heard them, I put my beats solo HD up on eBay. I had to have them. The bass is AMAZING. These blow my solo HDs out of the water. And they were on sale for 63.99 so even better than the already low price. Get these! You won't regret it!
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TeeRex
From: Southern California
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Forget the Beats, these are a Sony steal!!!
Date:December 14, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Outstanding Bass, lightweight, beautiful sound quality
Cons: 
Cons: Not collapsible, shorter cord, sound leak
Don't let the Cons turn you away from these awesome headphones. If you listen to music quite often and are looking to get you a decent pair of headphones...these are IT!!! I am an avid music listener (listen more than I watch television) and was thinking about getting the Beats. But, Sony being my favorite electronic brand, I had to give the company a chance at what it can offer. Boy did Sony deliver with this series model. I own the XB-500's and have enjoyed every listening minute with them. In comparison to the Beats, honestly, I think they sound just as excellent if not better!!! This is no exaggeration, these headphones will seriously keep your ears tuned into what you're listening to (especially when you begin to appreciate how beautiful the whole-some bass sounds!!!) I wouldn't consider myself an audiophile but if you are honest with yourself...these headphones are a sound investment to make without having to fork up a few hundred bills for a pair of Beats. Nevermind the Cons I mentioned, chances are you'll forget about them once these cuff soundly around your ears. Like I said earlier, if you're in the market for some headphones, you'll appreciate this post. You won't be disappointed!! Go Sony!!!
+10votes
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for MDR-XB500
Presales
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeejayManafest
From: Toronto,ON
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Amazing
Date:October 11, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Heavy Bass, Durability, Cost
Cons: 
Cons: Short Cord
If your the type of person that loves to listening to songs with bass You'd be stupid not to get these headphones. These headphones are the best headphones i ever had the bass is in the headphones are amazing the really durable and there extremely light. These headphones make Beats sound like dollar store headphones Two Thumbs up. And there at a reasonable price to.
+34votes
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cokez
From: Waterford, Ireland
I've had this product for:less than a month
Wow....
Date:October 4, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Most amazing bass ive ever heard in any headphone
Cons: 
Cons: At full volume only they leak a bit of sound.
First off,I never write reviews,But having just received these i simply have to.
1. Unbelievably comfortable,could wear them for hours.
2. Amazing bass - Perfect for Dubstep especially.
3. 5times cheaper than dre's Beats.
100% Must buy for any music enthusiast.
+25votes
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
r0DoG99
Posted November 14, 2011
GREAT REVIEW, i listen to alot of dubstep (skrillex, flux pavillion, doctor p, rusko, klaypex etc.) AND I REALLY appreciate someone that can relate to that and say/approve that they sound good with that type of music. :)
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 30 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MusicFreak
From: Seattle, WA
I've had this product for:less than a month
Excellent piece from Sony
Date:September 21, 2011
This is an excellent product with great design. The fluffy nature of diagphrams are very comfortobale.
The bass is very promising!
Totally its an excellent product from Sony! I recommend my friends/relatives to buy this.
+7votes
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for MDR-XB500
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
noe777
From: Houston,Tx
I've had this product for:less than a month
i would give it a five star
Date:August 24, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: they sound great dont even think about buying them twice
Cons: 
Cons: leak alot of sound
I would give these headphones a five star rating but, they leak alot of sound.The sound quality is perfect and they look like they are goin to last me a while.
+19votes
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
noe777
Posted October 10, 2011
nevermind im giving these a five star :) simply because they beat beats by dr dre. My friend had the solo hd and we compared them, and these had more bass! i was amazed because these are cheaper and sound better. I truly recomend these headphones they give u the most for ur money
and trust me all headphones leak so it doesnt matter how much these headphones leak
+1vote
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 32 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SEANY
From: LA, CA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Take that Dr. Dre
Date:August 23, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Bass, comfort-ability
Cons: 
Cons: None
There is no other headphones this good with this low of a price. This can easily beat Bets by Dr. Dre any day, and that thing is $299.
+11votes
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nellyfruto
From: roanoke, va
I've had this product for:6-12 months
excellent bass....
Date:June 5, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: excellent bass
This customer did not provide a text review.
-2votes
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for MDR-XB500
Top 10 contributor
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Computerhobbyist
From: NY
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Sony MDR-XB500 Headphones Review
Date:May 31, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Massive Bass Performance, Great Comfort
Cons: 
Cons: None
Spectacular deep bass, immersive sound quality, beautiful design, and great comfort. The Sony Extra Bass headphones achieve all of these attributes easily. These headphones present an acoustic epiphany between your ears. The Sony MDR-XB500 Extra Bass headphones deliver pulsating bass performance and vocal clarity that represent the finest technological achievement in the headphones product category. This pair of Sony MDR-XB500 audiophile headphones offers ultimate comfort with its highly adjustable headband and plush pillow quality ear cushions that cover the most advanced 40mm headphone drivers on the planet. I am unable to hear other outside distractions in my immediate environment when wearing the Sony headphones. The Sony MDR-XB500 headphones are so comfortable that it is just disappointing to remove them after an exhilarating and lengthy private listening session. The concert quality sonic experience offered by these Sony headphones makes me feel as if a live band is performing right in front of me. No matter what musical preference you have, the sound reproduction emanating from this beautifully designed pair of headphones is so wonderful, that there is no comparison with other headphone brands. The extraordinary and prodigious bass output of these Sony MDR-XB500 Extra Bass headphones is addictive. In my judgment, the audio sounds better through this pair of headphones than a stereo system playing through Hi-Fi loudspeakers. The Sony Extra Bass headphones sport an attractive appearance with its large design, cloth covered headband, silver ear cup exterior finish, and flat Y-type cord. Of course, the Sony MDR-XB500 headphones feature a 3.5mm gold-plated, L-shaped stereo mini plug for maximum signal transfer and compatibility with the widest range of portable, MP3, and home audio equipment possible. The headphones come packaged with a very high quality carrying case for storage or safe transport to another destination. I primarily use the Sony MDR-XB500 Extra Bass headphones with my Sony CFD-G700CP boombox to achieve out-of-this-world exact sound performance. With its world class bass performance, exceptional midrange, and stunning vocals, the Sony MDR-XB500 Extra Bass headphones embody the ultimate portable audio accessory. Good Luck. Enjoy.
+24votes
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shayden247
From: Grand Rapids, MI
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Very Impressed
Date:May 30, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Comfort, Sound Quality, Durability
Cons: 
Cons: none
I was really impressed by the quality of sound on these headphones, and the Bass is, of course, amazing. I have had my pair for over ten months now, and they still look and perform like new. Also, they are like a couch for your head. They can be worn for hours without discomfort, and it is easy to forget that they are even there.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bboyk
From: dublin
I've had this product for:less than a month
Forget about beats
Date:May 26, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: ~Very comfrotable king sized cushions
Cons: 
Cons: ~May be very unhandy to carry around due to size
These are beast headphones and beat the BEATS by comfort and bass. What i have to say is that the cushions are really i mean really comfortable also the you get a nice thump out of the headphones due to XtraBass put don't worry if you like listening to classical & jazz music you can always turn up the tremble on the equaliser.
These are amazing for watching movies the suround sounds are better than most surround sound systems no joke. Plus they look quite cool if you carry them around your neck also the flat wire looks really stylish and trust me you won't get let down by these. So bassically these are all rounders you can use them for home cinema, music, gaming and for electrical instruments. So just get them what are you waiting for.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
savvyboy
From: chicago, CH
I've had this product for:less than a month
I Love these headphones!!!
Date:May 1, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: super comfortable, great bass, great deal
Cons: 
Cons: A little bulky
Im a 15 year old boy who's birthday just came up and I couldn't think of anything to get. I never looked at headphones as much before, at first
I thought to get beats pros because there the most expensive and I thought the best are the most expensive but I was way wrong. I went to bestbuy and was very
disappointed at how heavy they were and how
uncomfortable the ear cups were. I saw these baby's and saw that it had extra bass. I hooked them up to my iPod and immediately fell in love with these. The price is
unbeatable for the quality of these headphones believe me they won't disappoint.
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sealessocean
From: Fountain valley, CA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
XB500 Excellent Sound
Date:April 29, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: A+
Cons: 
Cons: None
Best bass for the bucks, beat high end headphone, no distort big boom, just right for your ears can handle listen long period, I like it loud!!! My iPhone Slacker radio stream 192 bits rate, perfect for this kind of headphone, very light weight too. The design look slick. I needed the case for travel and store it.
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for MDR-XB500
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer123
From: New York.
I've had this product for:less than a month
Great Bass headphones, but with some drawbacks
Date:April 5, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Amazing bass. The sound is very crisp and clear. Good value.
Cons: 
Cons: Treble gets a bit muddy. Very claustrophobic.
I bought these headphones on a whim. At first I loved them, the bass is super rich and clear. Dubstep has never sounded better :) However, if you listen mainly to rock or any music with notes in more of the mid/high range, these might not be for you. Sometimes vocals get a bit muddy and drowned out by the instruments. A lot of my grunge now has a treble equalizer on it, which has made the sound for these headphones much better.
Also, they are very tight and conforming around the ear so they can get claustrophobic! All in all, they are a great value and the bass is fantastic, however, they do have some drawbacks.
+1vote
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for MDR-XB500
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freebro
From: Sacramento, CA
YES!
Date:March 6, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: VERY good sound output and range (down to 4 Hz!), Looks awesome, Loud
Cons: 
Cons: A little uncomfortable to wear after a long period of time, Size, Short cable, Cushions feel fragile
Overall, these headphones are the best I've bought in a while! (No more investing in Beats) The design and concept of it all is pretty sweet, but the axles that hold the muffs just look fragile; thin plastic or metal that holds these babies should be bigger. You can't wear them around your neck 'cause they're WAY too big. After wearing them for about 10 to 20 minutes, they feel as if someone's squeezing lightly on your head, but at least they're not ear-crushers. If the cushions last, I probably won't need to buy any new HQ headphones for another couple of years! -Freebro
+2votes
3of 4voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>