Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

MDR-XB500

Extra Bass Headphones - 40mm
Overall rating:
4.794 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars:(63)
4 Stars:(8)
3 Stars:(0)
2 Stars:(1)
1 Star:(1)
65 out of 7389%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for MDR-XB500
Review 21 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Tucson, AZ
I've had this product for:less than a month
Uncomparable Bass, Comfort & Clarity!
Date:May 9, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Outstanding Bass, Comfort, Clarity & Durability!
Cons: 
Cons: None that I found.
When purchasing quite anything from SONY, you are always in for a great product that'll last long and for a reasonable price! After about 2-3 weeks of use I've got to say, these are not only the most comfortable pair of headphones I've ever worn but also, you can tell they'll last. As I am writing this review, I am using the XB-500's and I can say, their Bass is Amazing and not to mention, their mid's and high's aren't all that bad to the point where you can basically listen to just about any genre on them! Also if you're on a low budget or just don't want to spend so much money on headphones, these are the perfect choice i'd recommend, but even with such a low price they're comparison to other headphones, Bose or Dr. Dre Beats, they're simply incredible! I've also read a couple of the other reviews saying, "Don't wear in public! They atract to much attention!" and I would have to gladly disagree, sure they are big, who cares! Their Clarity is astounding, and their comfort are uncomparable to any other headphones and if anyone tries to say less, let them try them on, they'll immediately know they were wrong. At first people may recognize you because of them but they'll soon forget because that's just about how everything else works out. So, if your looking for some great priced headphones yet with some nice bass and quality, you're definately going to want to check these out!
+22votes
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: New York, NY
I've had this product for:less than a month
Sweetness
Date:March 12, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Super comfortable, great sound, price isn't bad at all.
Cons: 
Cons: None yet
Basically I had been looking for an awesome pair of over the ear headphones and I had my eye on some other two pairs, but had been debating whether or not I should grab them. I then came across these on Sony's website and was sold. I bought them the next day and I have no regrets. They are comfortable to wear for long periods of time, the bass sounds great, not too overbearing, and the mids and highs come in really well also. If you're looking for headphones and they aren't these, simply change your mind to getting these and you'll be fine.
+13votes
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for MDR-XB500
Top 10 contributor
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: NY
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Sony MDR-XB500 Headphones Review
Date:May 31, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Massive Bass Performance, Great Comfort
Cons: 
Cons: None
Spectacular deep bass, immersive sound quality, beautiful design, and great comfort. The Sony Extra Bass headphones achieve all of these attributes easily. These headphones present an acoustic epiphany between your ears. The Sony MDR-XB500 Extra Bass headphones deliver pulsating bass performance and vocal clarity that represent the finest technological achievement in the headphones product category. This pair of Sony MDR-XB500 audiophile headphones offers ultimate comfort with its highly adjustable headband and plush pillow quality ear cushions that cover the most advanced 40mm headphone drivers on the planet. I am unable to hear other outside distractions in my immediate environment when wearing the Sony headphones. The Sony MDR-XB500 headphones are so comfortable that it is just disappointing to remove them after an exhilarating and lengthy private listening session. The concert quality sonic experience offered by these Sony headphones makes me feel as if a live band is performing right in front of me. No matter what musical preference you have, the sound reproduction emanating from this beautifully designed pair of headphones is so wonderful, that there is no comparison with other headphone brands. The extraordinary and prodigious bass output of these Sony MDR-XB500 Extra Bass headphones is addictive. In my judgment, the audio sounds better through this pair of headphones than a stereo system playing through Hi-Fi loudspeakers. The Sony Extra Bass headphones sport an attractive appearance with its large design, cloth covered headband, silver ear cup exterior finish, and flat Y-type cord. Of course, the Sony MDR-XB500 headphones feature a 3.5mm gold-plated, L-shaped stereo mini plug for maximum signal transfer and compatibility with the widest range of portable, MP3, and home audio equipment possible. The headphones come packaged with a very high quality carrying case for storage or safe transport to another destination. I primarily use the Sony MDR-XB500 Extra Bass headphones with my Sony CFD-G700CP boombox to achieve out-of-this-world exact sound performance. With its world class bass performance, exceptional midrange, and stunning vocals, the Sony MDR-XB500 Extra Bass headphones embody the ultimate portable audio accessory. Good Luck. Enjoy.
+24votes
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Chicago, IL
I've had this product for:1-2 years
you should get these
Date:March 25, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: amazing sound quality.
Understandable. I've had them for over an year. I carry them in my backpack with books and laptop daily (they take lots of damage), and no problems. The leather slightly wears off and falls apart, but it's ok because they sound great even when plugged in in a cheap mp3 player. I don't think I would ever use different headphones. By the way they keep your ears worm in the winter in Chicago, which makes me like them even more.
+12votes
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
swamp
Posted April 9, 2012
I have owned these since august of 2011 and i just love them. their very comfortable to wear and the sound is quadrophonic i love them.
0votes
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 25 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: az
I've had this product for:3-6 months
an audiophiles review
Date:January 18, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: bass conformable cable looks
Cons: 
Cons: nothing
these headphones are amazing for the price. i also have the 300's and Sennheiser hd280, Shure srh 440, Philips the stretch and many more.
for when im in the studio i use my sennheisers or shures.
i will do this to review more:
bass 10/10
mids 8/10
treble 8/10
overall sound 9/10
build 8.5/10
looks 8/10
overall 9.5/10
btw if your thinking or getting beats by dre DONT THEY SUCK. get any of the sony mrd xb line there 10x better and cost much less.
+16votes
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: dublin
I've had this product for:less than a month
Forget about beats
Date:May 26, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: ~Very comfrotable king sized cushions
Cons: 
Cons: ~May be very unhandy to carry around due to size
These are beast headphones and beat the BEATS by comfort and bass. What i have to say is that the cushions are really i mean really comfortable also the you get a nice thump out of the headphones due to XtraBass put don't worry if you like listening to classical & jazz music you can always turn up the tremble on the equaliser.
These are amazing for watching movies the suround sounds are better than most surround sound systems no joke. Plus they look quite cool if you carry them around your neck also the flat wire looks really stylish and trust me you won't get let down by these. So bassically these are all rounders you can use them for home cinema, music, gaming and for electrical instruments. So just get them what are you waiting for.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Los Angeles, CA
I've had this product for:less than a month
You won't belive your ears!
Date:March 18, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Deep low bass
Cons: 
Cons: None
Just like advertised, big bass is delivered!
Clean highs and mid's round out these headphones.
Very comfortable to wear for extended periods.
I also tried them out on my PSP and sound great as well.
Very satisfied customer.
+11votes
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: chicago, CH
I've had this product for:less than a month
I Love these headphones!!!
Date:May 1, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: super comfortable, great bass, great deal
Cons: 
Cons: A little bulky
Im a 15 year old boy who's birthday just came up and I couldn't think of anything to get. I never looked at headphones as much before, at first
I thought to get beats pros because there the most expensive and I thought the best are the most expensive but I was way wrong. I went to bestbuy and was very
disappointed at how heavy they were and how
uncomfortable the ear cups were. I saw these baby's and saw that it had extra bass. I hooked them up to my iPod and immediately fell in love with these. The price is
unbeatable for the quality of these headphones believe me they won't disappoint.
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: NORTHWETT,OR
I've had this product for:1-3 months
MDR-XB500
Date:April 11, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: KNOCKS ,SLAPPS,SLUMP
Cons: 
Cons: TO SHORT OF CORD
THESE HEADPHONES ARE MADE FOR THE ONES WHO LOVE THAT KNOCK .THESE HEADPHONES PUT BEATS BY DRE TO SHAME FOR THE PRICE.WELL WORTH THE INVESTMENT ID DO IT AGIAN NO DOUBT .SONY HEADPHONES HAVE NEVER FAILED ME I GO WAYBACK TO THE MDR84 .THE CUSHIN HEADPHONES ARE LIKE PILLOWS BOTTOM LINE WELL WORTH THE MONEY -INVEST MY BROTHER YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED.............
+9votes
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Ohio
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Excellent
Date:March 21, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: GREAT sound, booming bass, beautiful design
Cons: 
Cons: Sound does leak, but there is a fix for that.
These headphones have such an incredible sound and the bass is very excellent, just as described. BY FAR these are the best headphones on the market in this price range.
The one downside is that sound leaks. The leaks mostly occur from the three small openings on the outside of the headphones. I'm not totally sure why they are there, but I put a piece of electrical tape right over it and the leakage was minimal and I sacrificed no sound quality.
I highly recommend these, but take care of the leakage!
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Lake Oswego, OR
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Love these phones
Date:November 22, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Good Sound Quality, good bass, very comfy
Cons: 
Cons: don't contain the sound very well
I like these headphones a lot. I use them everyday and have never had a problem with them being uncomfortable. They look pretty kick a** and sound even better, and there not too big either. My one problem with them is that they produce a lot of sound for others to hear. It's not a big problem, but personally I don't like other people hearing my music or being bothered by it. Overall great purchase, worth every Pennie.
+11votes
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Oklahoma
I've had this product for:1-2 years
BOOMING BASSSSS
Date:April 19, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Bass is simply amazing
Cons: 
Cons: cord is kind of short and should of done one Auxiliary cord that was detachable
Lets just start by saying if you have a under powered audio device and you are using these headphones you wont get the full bass. When you get something that can push these things to the max they will leave you in aww. The bass is very clear no muffling or distortion. I highly recommend these if you like Rap,Hip-Hop,Dubstep or any music full of bass. These heaphones are 79.99 their way better then beats and so much more comfortable. Great Job Sony
+10votes
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Texas
I've had this product for:less than a month
Superb Bass
Date:December 30, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: A TON OF BASS!!!!
Cons: 
Cons: Nothing at all
If you listen to Rock, Pop, Rap, or anything else these are the headphones for it.
These are great headphones for every one!
But if you dont like alot of bass then you might not want these headphones the bass is awesomely over powering (Just like i like it)
5 Stars!!!!! These are Great!
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Houston, TX
I've had this product for:less than a month
Best headphones for bass lovers.
Date:December 21, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Bass, price, comfort
Cons: 
Cons: Sound leak
I tryed these out at best buy, and as soon as I heard them, I put my beats solo HD up on eBay. I had to have them. The bass is AMAZING. These blow my solo HDs out of the water. And they were on sale for 63.99 so even better than the already low price. Get these! You won't regret it!
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had this product for:less than a month
Best things ever
Date:August 26, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: !!!!!!!!Everything!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: 
Cons: hearing loss :P
These are the best things I have ever put on my body!!!!!!! The base is excellent. You will just forget that it is time to go to bed. Everything around you just disapear and i propably hate to hear that this are perfect but they are the best buy! I'm propably go deaf when i hit 30
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Rochester, MI
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Great Buy!!!!!
Date:January 3, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: base is even better than i thought it would be. Really comfortable. Cord length is long enough.
Cons: 
Cons: I only have one complaint, and thats that it leaks sound. This isn't a big deal for me, but some people don't like that
Overall, it was a great buy, i would definitely recommend this to a friend, and it was an especially good deal in the month of December and January because they had a 20% off discount.
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: LA, CA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Take that Dr. Dre
Date:August 23, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Bass, comfort-ability
Cons: 
Cons: None
There is no other headphones this good with this low of a price. This can easily beat Bets by Dr. Dre any day, and that thing is $299.
+11votes
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for MDR-XB500
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Houston,Tx
I've had this product for:less than a month
i would give it a five star
Date:August 24, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: they sound great dont even think about buying them twice
Cons: 
Cons: leak alot of sound
I would give these headphones a five star rating but, they leak alot of sound.The sound quality is perfect and they look like they are goin to last me a while.
+19votes
24of 29voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
noe777
Posted October 10, 2011
nevermind im giving these a five star :) simply because they beat beats by dr dre. My friend had the solo hd and we compared them, and these had more bass! i was amazed because these are cheaper and sound better. I truly recomend these headphones they give u the most for ur money
and trust me all headphones leak so it doesnt matter how much these headphones leak
+1vote
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 39 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Grand Rapids, MI
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Very Impressed
Date:May 30, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Comfort, Sound Quality, Durability
Cons: 
Cons: none
I was really impressed by the quality of sound on these headphones, and the Bass is, of course, amazing. I have had my pair for over ten months now, and they still look and perform like new. Also, they are like a couch for your head. They can be worn for hours without discomfort, and it is easy to forget that they are even there.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for MDR-XB500
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: From Arizona
I've had this product for:less than a month
New Headphones
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: sound, comfort, quality, great look, great cord not to long.
Cons: 
Cons: ear pads keep sound put but they are kinda huge.
I just bought a MDR-XB500's @ the Sony Store near my house and I LOVE them. They are very comfortable and the sound & bass is, in my opinion the best you will get for its price. They are definetly a must buy if you listen to music as much as I do. One more thing, there is a weird kinda Princess Leia thing going on. Its probobly just me.
+12votes
17of 22voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>