Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

VGP-BMS77

Rechargeable Bluetooth Mouse
Overall rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars:(4)
4 Stars:(1)
3 Stars:(0)
2 Stars:(0)
1 Star:(3)
4 out of 850%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for VGP-BMS77
Review 1 for VGP-BMS77
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Liege, Belgium
I've had this product for:2-5 years
Excellent!
Date:October 9, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: Laser technology is excellent / Battery life is incredible / design / charging station is beautiful
Cons: 
Cons: When non used for dozens of seconds, it needs 3 to 5 sec to reconnect to the PC
I've been using the mouse for 3 years now, I have to say this is the best purchase I've made in computer peripherals so far.
The Laser technology is really accurate, I use it on my bed sometimes.
The design is ok, the mouse is not too small and fits perfectly the shape of the hand.
The forward/backward button are really convenient when browsing the net !
The battery life is more than excellent. I do not use it 5h/day 5 days/week as Sony says but, more like 3hours a day, and it lasts so easily one month when fully charged. I see plenty of reviews talking about the battery life, maybe they did not respect the charging cycle ? I myself wait for the mouse to be "dead" to recharge it and there's no problem !! ((I did not do that with my Vaio laptop, and litteraly killed the battery life))
The little drawback would be the 3 to 5s lag to reconnect the mouse to the PC (bluetooth dongle) when it has not been used for 40 to 60 seconds. Apart from that, nothing to say.
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for VGP-BMS77
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: Wilton, CT
I've had this product for:less than a month
Disconnecting Issues
Date:March 27, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Superb design and ergonomics. No cables. Rechargeable battery
Cons: 
Cons: Bluetooth disconnecting randomly
The mouse is great overall and I'm happy with it, but it disconnects randomly and for no apparent reason, even when I'm working and actively using it. It simply stops responding. Sometimes turning it off and on again works, sometimes shutting down bluetooth on my lap does the trick, but I've even had to reboot my laptop in order to re-connect it. Fortunately work continues uninterrupted because I can use the trackpad, but it's a glitch that needs to be fixed. I still recommend it for portability, design and ease of use.
+8votes
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for VGP-BMS77
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Baltimore
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Works very well
Date:March 31, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Bluetooth, rechargeable, good response, long battery life
Cons: 
Cons: feel (shape, texture)
This mouse has worked very well for me. It's quite quick and responsive. It's only been a little slow after it hasn't been used in a while and has to "wake up" again, but this only takes a second or two. The battery hasn't failed me yet in about two months of use. I have charged it a couple of times, but only as a preventative measure and not because the battery had died. I don't like the feel of the mouse in my hand as much as other, smoother mice, but it's not uncomfortable.
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for VGP-BMS77
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: GA
I've had this product for:3-6 months
Worst mouse I've ever owned; Just a decoration
Date:July 25, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Precision, Design
Cons: 
Cons: Connection, Recharging, Battery-life, Ergonomics
This mouse is horrendous in almost every possible aspect. First, the pros: yes, it is a laser mouse and you get the precision you expect from a laser mouse; also, it looks nice when it's in its holder. That is it. Everything else about this mouse is awful and it is barely functional. It is ungodly uncomfortable, it is far too big to be portable, it drops its Bluetooth connection ALL THE TIME and is a pain to reconnect, and its battery life is FAR shorter than advertised. Re: the charging issues -- the charger does not recognize that the mouse needs to be charged unless it's been used for maybe an entire day. Since the battery only lasts a few days, you pretty much have to remember to always put this thing back on its charger. You get a far more maintainable and enjoyable experience with any mouse that requires fresh batteries every 1.5-2 months. Re: the Bluetooth connectivity issues -- these issues alone render this mouse pretty much unusable. I'd say it drops its connection about once an hour and to reconnect it you have to either reboot your laptop, remove and re-add the device to your list of known devices, or power-down and then power-up the Bluetooth connection on your laptop and on the mouse. Neither of these processes is short and is most inconvenient. Given all of the problems it has and its price, this is an absolutely ludicrous purchase. I wish I would've returned it when I had the opportunity. It is a massive waste of money.
+5votes
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for VGP-BMS77
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: AZ
I've had this product for:1-3 months
wireless bluetooth
Date:January 17, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: great design, responsive, easy to use, reliable
Cons: 
Cons: none
I have had this mouse for about a month now. I love the design the and leather like surface with the chrome outline. The scroll button is precisely place along with the page back/ forward button comes in really handy. I use this daily about 4-6 hours at a time. The battery doesn't last as long as in the advertise I charge it about once a week. The charging cradle is great and easy to use, you simply set the mouse on the cradle and it charges, there no wires to plug into the mouse.
+4votes
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for VGP-BMS77
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: sit on my VGP-BMS77
I've had this product for:6-12 months
VGP-BMS77 battery - life - the story of my - <
Date:May 19, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Design
Cons: 
Cons: Support for the worse battery ever
Dont buy this product. Many batteries dont have a long live and all sony and sub-companies dont offer a new battery. I just bought a new mouse from antoher vendor and lost 110 euro for this unusable VGP-BMS77 bluetooth vaio mouse.
Thank you sony for the great help and support.
0votes
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for VGP-BMS77
Presales
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Seattle, WA
Unable to Use
Date:November 20, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Great design
Cons: 
Cons: Difficult to use
I can't even connect my brand new vaio mice with my brand new vaio F series, what a shame... Sony should make more friendly technologies, which is easy to use. Or maybe my mice got some problem in shipping? Don't know either...
-1vote
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for VGP-BMS77
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Hobe Sound, FL
I've had this product for:less than a month
BMS77 Mouse
Date:October 24, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Very lightweight, Excellent quality, Battery lasts long
Wonderful mouse! Well worth the price. I would absolutely recommend to anyone! I am even considering replaces all of my family's mice with this one now!
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.