Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

NWZ-S736FBNC

4GB S Series Walkman Video MP3 Player
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars:(6)
4 Stars:(1)
3 Stars:(1)
2 Stars:(0)
1 Star:(0)
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend
Customer reviews for NWZ-S736FBNC
Review 1 for NWZ-S736FBNC
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Temecula, California
I've had this product for:less than a month
I love this music player
Date:July 15, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: sense me channel, the bright screen, noise-cancelling, durability, pocket-size, fm, podcast, design
Cons: 
Cons: ear buds attracts dirt, so you have to clean them all the time
I enjoy listening to this music player so much -- especially when I'm at the gym. The noise cancelling feature really works, you can't hear the noise coming from the people and equipments. It sound a lot better than the ipods and I don't even have to make the volume all the way up. We have ipod nano, ipod classic and itouch and this Walkman S series beats all of them with the sound quality. It is a pocket-size gadget that is durable - even by just feeling it. The sense me channels are great, it sorts out all my music and I can play them according to the mood that I am at. I also love how the screen is really bright and you can also use your own photos as your wallpaper. It has FM and podcast features and also the video player works well.
The price is not bad at all for the features you are getting from this small gadget. I just hope that they're selling the black color having the 8gb memory. If you have more budget then go for walkman X, i bet it's really awesome knowing that Walkman S already is.
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NWZ-S736FBNC
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: san antonio, tx
I've had this product for:1-3 months
very good product
Date:December 1, 2008
bought one for my daughter and its got more features than an ipod for half the price. very reliable. I was even impressed with the am/fm tuner it sounds really good
+64votes
67of 70voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NWZ-S736FBNC
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Los Angeles, CA
I've had this product for:less than a month
Extremly satisfied
Date:June 21, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: battery life/noise cancelling/quality/sound/esign/great screen very clear
Cons: 
Cons: i personaly would of liked it to come with extra screen protector, but theres realy nothing i dnt love about it.........
This is the perfect mp3 player for me. I own a 8gb ipod touch 2nd gen and the sound quality of this sony mp3 player is much better, in fact this is the best sounding mp3 player ive ever listened to.
QUALITY: its a Sony so no need to explain that (all of there products are well made/designed)
BATTERY LIFE: i listen to it all day at school and after, i often go 2 days without needing to charge.
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NWZ-S736FBNC
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: New Jersey
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Terrific, but learn the trick for audiobooks
Date:June 11, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: SQ,NC,Power,Folders,Resume,protected WMA supt.,etc.
Cons: 
Cons: To get spoken word resume, audio must be in subfolder.
Summary: A stellar MP3 player with excellent design, and beaucoup novel features. Supports audiobooks with nice resume function, including public library OverDrive Media and NetLibrary audiobooks, provided that you know the trick: audio files must be in 2nd level player folder "\Podcasts\<someOtherFolder>\".
Pluses:
+ Sound quality.
+ Noise cancelling (you can mow the lawn without harming your hearing, though the earbuds must be sealed in your ear canals). And not just for content from the player or its FM radio: Sony included an airplane connector and a 3.5mm audio jack connector, to enjoy noise cancelling while listening to other input (like airplane movie sound).
+ Resumes perfectly all audio in folder "Podcasts\<someOtherFolder>\" (see the "Minus" below). Has a "New" icon next to unheard podcasts that you can use to tell which one you were last listening to.
+ Resumes perfectly all videos.
+ Plays protected WMA content, like audiobooks from OverDrive Media and NetLibrary (and with proper resume function if you use care to have your loading program (OverDrive Media Console or WMP) put the files correctly within the Podcasts directory hierarchy).
+ Excellent power management, best of any MP3 player bar none. (Even offers audio-only playback of video.)
+ Physical form factor (size/slimness).
+ Folder browsing (in addition to the usual tag browsing (Album/Artist/Genre). An excellent feature.
+ SenseMe channels is a neat feature. You can think of it two ways: 1) It's a smart shuffle that allows you to shuffle within music categories; or 2) It's an automatic genre categorizer (especially nice if you haven't tagged your songs properly). You get sensing when you load them through the Sony apps (Content Transfer is the simpler of the two Sony apps). But you can also get in-player sensing, and it tells you when you have music that hasn't been sensed.
+ On-player delete of video and content in folder "Podcasts."
+ Settings previews without requiring you to make the setting. E.g., Instant Equalizer and Surround settings previews can be heard on the Now Playing song as you scroll through them, rather than having to change to each setting before you can hear the change.
+ Audible fast forward (only when you fast forward when it's playing, which is at a slow rate of about 1 minute every 5 seconds; you get a faster ff if you ff while it's paused (about 2 minutes every second), but it's silent).
+ Hard button for noise cancellation.
+ Rollover list scrolling (down from last goes to first, up from first goes to last) on most menus (not on "Yes/No" Delete menu).
+ Automatic pause of videos when you call up the Options menu. Makes sense since the menu blocks most of the vid. Nice touch, Sony.
+ No need for SonicStage software! No more having Sony software wanting to transcode your MP3s into ATRAC format.
Minus:
- Weird, unexpected requirement that in folder "Podcasts," nothing will play except audio files in the first subfolder under Podcasts. You have to read this on page 31 of the user guide, or find it in troubleshooting as the last bullet item in two rows. OK, everyone should read the 166-page user guide. But most of us skip over how to load via Windows Explorer because we've done that on so many other brands of players, and they all play content in the first folder--it's usually only a concern when you load files too deep into the folder hierarchy. Once you know this requirement, it's a great player for spoken word. Note that there are different rules for each of the folders on the player:
* files in folder "Music" will play if they are in levels 1-8;
* files in folder "Videos" will play if they are in levels 1-2;
* files in folder "Pictures" will display if they are in levels 1-2; and
* files in folder "Podcasts" will play only if they are in level 2.
I gave this a minus because I think this restriction is too weird and too easy for people to miss. There are many people who don't know that this is a great player for audiobooks, and that's a shame. This restriction should be fixed to also allow playing in folder level 1 (directly in folder "Podcasts"), so that you're not forced to create a dummy folder on the player just to load one podcast. (And when using on-player delete, that dummy folder gets deleted when you delete the last podcast within that folder.) Or if this restriction just can't be corrected, then at least shout out this weird, non-intuitive restriction in various places in the user guide, using lots of exclamation points.
Minor Nits:
- The Content Transfer drag-and-drop helper app seems to make no sense for loading podcasts, though it's good for loading music to get the SenseMe analysis. In loading podcasts, though, all it does is offer unreliability. It sometimes loads podcasts in Music, where you have no resume function, and now you'll have that podcast incorrectly integrated into a SenseMe channel. My guess is that Content Transfer uses ID3 tags, and podcasts are notorious for having bad or other-genre tags. Another time it just hung when loading a podcast with Genre tag = "Podcast". Yes, it offers drag-and-drop from iTunes, and sensing, both of which are good for music. But for podcasts, it's more reliable to find the iTunes folder on your PC that contains the podcast and drag-and-drop from there into the player folder "Podcasts".
- I wonder why it must be paused to delete podcasts? Creative and Sandisk players don't have this restriction on Deletes. Maybe Sony has a good reason?
- I wonder why there's no on-player delete of music. Maybe Sony has a good reason?
- no accelerating fast forward.
- danger of harming player by pushing buttons when player plugged into USB, per user guide.
- continuous podcast playing not supported - nice for listening while driving without taking your eyes off the road.
- Media Manager doesn't support video conversion, according to the download link. This seems odd to leave the novice MP3 user on their own like this, especially since there are so many video podcasts that a novice can easily get and has the expectation of easy playability on the player. Instead, the novice needs to know where to get a converter app, and then to consult the user guide for that one chart to tell them the format restrictions. At least give a paragraph of guidance for the novice.
- No Audible.com audiobook support, if that matters to you. (All other audiobook content is supported, see above Pluses.
- How come no recording like the S703/S705 had? Seems like the connecting cable is already supplied.
+24votes
27of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NWZ-S736FBNC
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Cincinnati Ohio
I've had this product for:less than a month
Great player for the price
Date:January 7, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: good size, easy to use
Cons: 
Cons: headphones that come with it not that great
I bought this for my son as Christmas present to use when he worksout and runs. It was easy to use for him and the FM tuner makes it really nice.
Simple menu system to navigate and the battery life appears to be really good so far.
I highly recommend this player
+7votes
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NWZ-S736FBNC
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Los Lunas
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Great MP3
Date:July 28, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Easy set-up and downloading, sound quality and price
Cons: 
Cons: None that I found
Having received the S736 MP3 I am impressed with the simplicity of setting it up and downloading music to it. It operates flawlessly. The sound features and playback are incredible as you can hear the little nuances of the instuments clearly. What's really inpressive are the provided earplugs. These are not the most expensive ones Sony produces but they are very good. Also the best battery on the market, 40 plus hours between charging. My son has a Zune and my daughter an iPod, I think I have the better MP3.
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NWZ-S736FBNC
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: DE
I've had this product for:3-6 months
My Sony
Date:September 17, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Noise cancellation , nice headphone fit, Battery life.
Cons: 
Cons: Price, FM ,Audio books, Head phone protectors easy to loose.
I bought it for FM, FM reception is very weak and if its a faint signal in your region forget it..
I was told its only made in Japan or US, when it came it was made in Malaysia !
Noise cancellation is great for noisy environments, music quality is just average. Overall an average quality buy.
0votes
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Response from SonyBy DevonOSony StyleNovember 3, 2009
Hi Hinth. Thanks for posting. I wanted to let you and other reviews know that although the Walkman is assembled in the US or Japan, the parts are sourced internationally. I hope this clears up any confusion.
Ratings-only reviews for NWZ-S736FBNC
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product