Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

DR-BT140Q

Bluetooth Wireless Stereo Headset
Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars:(7)
4 Stars:(0)
3 Stars:(1)
2 Stars:(2)
1 Star:(1)
7 out of 1164%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for DR-BT140Q
Review 1 for DR-BT140Q
Featured Review
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Seattle, WA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Great young product! READ FOR BATTERY TIPS!
Date:October 17, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Everything, and the battery life is FINE!
Cons: 
Cons: not much, read the content
I'm 25 and a carpenter that works for some high-end clients. I love music, but I can't exactly haul a beat-box into their abode. I also love these android phones on the market, and I avidly use pandora radio with them. If not then I'm using them with my iTouch. I had an HTC Hero, and these worked well with them. Now I have a Samsung Epic, and they sync up even faster now.
Okay, the point. I read all the reviews before I bought them, and it seems that everyone complains about the battery life. I use them for two full days at a time before charging them, and the life seems to just get better the more I fully charge them. I've been using them for a few months now.
THE TRICK WITH THE BATTERY is to let them die completely, then charge them completely. Don't break the cycle, and you'll be fine. It's just like a lithium-ion laptop battery, or the batteries on all these iPhones & Androids.
If you NEED to have working bluetooth headphones all day in and day out, then buy two pairs that you can alternate between. They're dirt-cheap for what they do. Another thing that's really cool is that I can sync these headphones to my iTouch first, and it reserves the 'media audio.' Then I can also sync them to my phone, and it reserves the phone audio. This was I can listen to music on my iTouch, and when a call comes in they automatically pause the Touch and the call comes through. When you're finished talking you press the call button on the headphones, and it automatically resumes play on the Touch. All with one button on the headphones. You can pause/resume, sync, and switch tracks all from the headphones. They RULE!
Overall: they sync well, and all works well. If you have any problems then it's YOUR device, or just a bad set that can be replaced with the warranty. You can't lose for a hundred bucks!
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DR-BT140Q
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Stone Mountain, A
I've had this product for:less than a month
Best Sounding Bluetooth Headphones I Have
Date:January 13, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: The Best Sound, Easy Contraols On the Ears
Cons: 
Cons: I don't have any
I have purchased different brands of bluetooth headsets in which the sound quality was not that great (poor volume, don't fit the ears right - maybe my ears are too big, etc).
I have found that these have the best sound that I have ever heard and they fit my ears comfortably.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DR-BT140Q
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: San Diego, CA
I've had this product for:less than a month
good set of headphones
Date:January 2, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Nice quality sound when listening to music
Cons: 
Cons: Picks up alot of background noise when taking a call
These earphones were able to connect to my computer and my phone at home and worked with no problem. The sound quality when listening to music is perfect. The headphones do pic up background noise when taking a call but the person is able to hear me clearly when speaking.
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DR-BT140Q
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: New York, NY
I've had this product for:less than a month
Cord issues
Date:July 2, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Great sound and easy to use
Cons: 
Cons: cord is annoying and breaks
The non-tangle cord started to fray almost immediately due to the gizmo they use to adjust the size. That exposes the wire - fail.
+3votes
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DR-BT140Q
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Souther California
I've had this product for:less than a month
Great product
Date:July 13, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: All
Cons: 
Cons: None
After trying many headsets (wired) and disappointed in the quality, sound quality and restricted use during excercise and outdoors activity I bought this wireless headset. It's construction is high quality, light and has great sound. To my suprise when receiving a phone call it was better quality than my bluetooth devices!
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DR-BT140Q
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: California
I've had this product for:3-6 months
Cord Issues
Date:November 14, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Sounds great
Cons: 
Cons: Cord will tangle and will eventually break
I've owned 2 of these and both times the cord became tangled and eventually broke. I love these headphones outside of them breaking eventually. It's also unfortunate they don't allow you to purchase a warranty. I purchase mainly Sony products and this is my first complaint. Don't purchase.
+1vote
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DR-BT140Q
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: North Saanich, BC Canada
I've had this product for:6-12 months
BT Headphones
Date:August 30, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Good sound and control
Cons: 
Cons: Cord recoil lousy
Nice phones but cord recoil is terrible. Sony seems to be going downhill in its quality control.
+1vote
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DR-BT140Q
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: Honolulu, HI
I've had this product for:2-5 years
Had for over two years and still enjoying them
Date:June 18, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Size, style, interface, connection, sound clarity
Cons: 
Cons: Microphone pickup and noise cutting, Not good for running
I bought these after trying quite a few stereo bluetooth headsets and these were the only ones that were comfortable and stylish enough to wear without looking odd. I was immediately impressed with the range and the battery life. I can listen to music all day. Also, I can leave my phone in one room and walk all around my apartment without losing connection. The controls are easy to work and haven't given me any problems with my phone (htc touch pro). Also, since they don't have a band running between them, they are extremely portable: just through them in my pocket. The only downside is that due to the relaxed over ear fit, when I exercise, I have to wear a headband to keep them from flopping around and falling off, but the benefits far outweigh the faults. I hope they come out with a slimmer version in the future.
+1vote
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DR-BT140Q
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Livermore, CA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Hope you don't want them longer than 2 months!
Date:July 25, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Great sound, fairly comfortable
Cons: 
Cons: Die within 2 months.
Great sound, comfortable, but don't use them to work out. I guess if you don't sweat maybe they would be okay. My first pair died in less than a month. Returned them and the second pair lasted about six weeks. Sony has always been a no-brainer. Good quality and reliable. Not so this time. These are garbage, run the other way!
+8votes
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DR-BT140Q
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
From: NYC
I've had this product for:less than a month
Great Bluetooth Headset
Date:March 1, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Sound quality & easy to carry in your pocket when you're not using them.
Cons: 
Cons: I'm thinking they will get hot in the summer since they cover the ear.
Fits snug to the ear if your ear fits of course, these have great sound quality, great volume range, paired easily with my AT&T Fuze, have stereo on the phone calls, and the controls are easy to use.
Sony delivers a great experience with the DR-BT140Q if you're looking for stereo bluetooth sound quality, comfort, and phone functionality.
+1vote
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for DR-BT140Q
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product