Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

KDL-32L4000

32" Class BRAVIA L Series LCD HDTV
Overall rating:
2.784 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars:(14)
4 Stars:(1)
3 Stars:(1)
2 Stars:(5)
1 Star:(16)
16 out of 3743%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend
Customer reviews for KDL-32L4000
Review 1 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Atlanta
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Don't Buy this TV is going out at 1.5 year old
Date:January 21, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Loved the picture when it worked
Cons: 
Cons: permanant horizontal line, white screeen, vertical lines, double vision
I bought this TV May of 2008. I chose Sony over other brands because the brand has a proven reliability and the picture was nice. I loved my TV until I had owned it for a year and a half. It developed a horizontal line across the top which is permanent. It has to "warm up" like an old TV set for 10 minutes before you can see a picture. I thought I could live with that, but now it is having a shaky screen and slight double vision off and on. I have read some other reviews which state this was is a known problem and Sony sent these TVs to the stores anyway. I paid right at $600.00 at Walmart.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Pewaukee,WI
I've had this product for:1-2 years
bought 1.5 years ago sony 32 inch bravia sony
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: worked well for year and a half
Cons: 
Cons: paid $699 for it on amazon.com and now horizantal lines and double images.
This is my 2nd Sony. The first one was flatscreen hd ready and screen was blank after 3 years of ownership. The 2nd one was purchased on amazon.com a year and a half ago. When you turn the tv on there is one horizantal line one image but when you change channels then you get two horizantal lines and two images. Not sure what to do. Don't know if this is repairable. Per my research this was a known issue so hoping Sony will make it right with me and either fix or replace defective product.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5votes
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Florida
I've had this product for:1-2 years
The Batteries Lasted Longer than the TV!
Date:July 26, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Great batteries in the remote, Nice while it lasted
Cons: 
Cons: Poorly designed, contained flawed LCD Panel installed
Count me in with the many tv owners who now have a non-functioning 32" Sony Bravia LCD TV. After 22 months of low usage (not our main television), the screen developed a black horizontal line across the top of the screen. The bottom two thirds of the screen are covered with vertical colored stripes. Ironically, I still have the original Sony batteries in the remote. They work perfectly.
Spoke with technical support, customer relations and a Sony authorized repair center. Technical support and customer relations will not help because the television is out of warranty. Authorized repair center told me the LCD panel would need to be replaced and the part alone was over $700.
I have chosen to pruchase Sony products when available for the last 20 years. No more! Purchased a Dell computer and a Samsung cell phone for son to take to college. Shocked that a quality company like Sony will not support their product. Sadly, I can no longer trust the Sony name. Unless, of course, I need batteries.
+3votes
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KDL-32L4000
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: St Louis Co, MO
I've had this product for:less than a month
Great TV
Date:November 21, 2008
This Sony Bravia replaces a 15yr old Hitachi. The difference is amazing. The ease of set up-wiring and channels was excellent.
I plan on getting a smaller one for kitchen viewing.
Have already enjoyed the digital channels that were found in the initial setup,
Value - excellent. Purchased a 19" Sony 2 years ago that cost more than this 32"
+78votes
85of 92voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KDL-32L4000
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Elysburg, PA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Great TV For The Money
Date:December 2, 2008
Pros: 
Pros: Great picture. Easy to use.
Cons: 
Cons: No 1080p for Blue Ray content but we utilize the XBR for that.
We purchased this TV for the bedroom. We did not want to spend a fortune as we already have a Sony 46" XBR which is superb in every respect. We thought we would be settling for much less with this TV. Turns out that I watch it alot when my wife hogs up the XBR. I really like this TV. Thinking about getting another one for the den to replace my 24" tube Sony.
+10votes
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Toronto, Canada
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Very disappointed
Date:January 1, 2012
I bought my own Sony Bravia almost 5 years ago and did not have a problem so I thought I would buy a smaller version for my elderly Mother. I bought this model the Sony 32L4000 exactly two years ago and last week the dark line and smudge marks began to appear. I am highly disappointed that Sony would allow or make such a thing. I have heard of TV makers purposely building short lived tv's, but I THOUGHT Sony was above that. From reading the reviews here, I can see that they are NOT above that kind of rip off game. Building a tv with sub standard components is something I expect from the copy cats out there, not from Sony. I will NOT be replacing her TV with a Sony and when mine eventually goes, which I am sure it will soon, I will NOT be buying a Sony for myself. Too bad, Sony, you lost yet another customer.
+5votes
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Atlanta, GA
I've had this product for:2-5 years
Good... until it broke
Date:August 5, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: decent picture quality
Cons: 
Cons: It broke after 3 years for no apparent reason
This television worked well until it broke all of a sudden for no reason. I paid $700 for this television in 2008 and when it broke(developed a horizontal line that distorted color and image) I contacted Sony, they told me I needed to get it looked at by a certified technician($90 for a diagnosis) and if it was fixable they would give me a discount on the repairs or a discount on a new TV. Sad to think that Sony would sell a TV with a commonly occurring problem and the most they can offer is a "discount". I am disappointed and I used to be a loyal costumer and fan but after this I'm not buying Sony again. Apparently Sony thinks that it's ok for a 3yr old $700 TV to break even if the brand is supposed to be the epitome of quality.
+5votes
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Tampa, FL
I've had this product for:2-5 years
Doubt I will buy sony again after this experience
Date:September 3, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: damaged after only 3 years
I have the same problem as other owners. I received this tv as a gift in May 2008. It was manufactured in April 2008. It worked great up until today when I got the infamous line going across the top portion of the screen and vertical lines going down from it. Apparently other users are saying this is a tboard problem. Which costs about $500 to repair. The tv was purchased for 700 but comparable tvs are now going for 300. I hope Sony can help me because I've purchased Sony for years. There is no reason why a 3 year old tv should be performing like this. It's unacceptable.
+7votes
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KDL-32L4000
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: Dallas, Texas
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Closer to the anniversary
Date:November 14, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Great price, sounds and picture until today
Cons: 
Cons: Screen
I loved the TV when I got it, relying on Sony's known quality and durability of its products. Now after almost a year suddenly colored vertical lines started appearing on the screen. Contacted Sony Tech support, and was utlimately referred to a local service center. - I wonder how much the repair will cost, and how long will it take to be repaired. Just as I was planning to purchase a 52" for Christmas. :(
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had this product for:1-2 years
only 18 months of use
Date:February 1, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: great till it went out
Cons: 
Cons: 650 dollars for 18 months of use
Great Tv until about 18 months of use. Then a Grey 2 inch bar at the top that does not go away. Then verticle red lines on screen as it warms up. Come on Sony this is supposed to last years and 18 months of use is unacceptable. There are others having the exact same problem. Start supporting your customers and help us.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: charleston,SC
I've had this product for:1-2 years
DO NOT BUY
Date:February 25, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: It said sony on it and I thought I was getting the best product money could buy
Cons: 
Cons: 20 months after its manufacture date, the TV is done!
I bought a cheap/on sale 32" lcd tv at circuit city a couple of years ago.2 weeks after my warranty expired so did the tv. I told myself"You get what you paid for" so when I went to get a new tv I had to get a Sony. It is all I had ever bought before I got fancy and went lcd. Well, big mistake!! 20 months after the manufactureed date on the back of the tv, the tv is dead. Once again the consumer takes it in the ....well anyway. This is happening to a lot of these tv's, where is the recall? Come on Sony, do the right thing. You have made enough of my money over the years, now this is how I am thanked for customer loyalty??
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
From: Wisconsin
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Bravia Screen dies within 2 years! Beware!
Date:November 20, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Worked great for 2 years
Cons: 
Cons: 2 years is the life span of a Bravia
I bought a Sony instead of the less expensive models... big mistake. I only got two years before my pannel began to develop dark streaks on the screen which got progressively worse. This appears to be a common issue too, but if you don't have an extended warranty, then you will pay more to fix then you paid for the tv. Sony, shame on you!
+6votes
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KDL-32L4000
Featured Review
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Folsom, Ca.
I've had this product for:less than a month
Early Christmas Present
Date:December 17, 2008
Pros: 
Pros: Beautiful Picture
Cons: 
Cons: None
I recently purchased this unit for the Bedroom in which we also have a Sony Bluray Player and the units display is beautiful, with the proper HDMI cable the unit can easily support a full 1080p signal input via an available HDMI port. Making full use of the 1366 X 768 lines of resolution available.
Granted its not natively 1980 X 1080 but trust me Batman The Dark Knight or Kun fu Panda looks fantastic.
+7votes
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KDL-32L4000
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Atlanta, GA
I've had this product for:less than a month
GREAT value, with one drawback....
Date:January 5, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Fantastic picture quality that rivals much pricier models
Cons: 
Cons: Lack of useful 'ZOOM' functions for letterboxed programming and DVDs
It's hard to believe that this is a 'value' priced TV set. It makes one wonder how good the picture quality on Sony's pricier models could be, when this one is so outstanding. Watching even standard-definition DVDs is a revelation- they look almost three-dimensional. I see no compromise in picture quality here- contrast is excellent ( I use the 'custom' picture settings, but reduced the sharpness to '8', noise reduction 'off' color temp to 'neutral', brightness to '49' and I left the picture at '80' and color at '50'). Make sure to turn Cinemotion to "auto" to properly detect film-based programming.
The sound is also excellent thru the built-in speakers. I also like the black-satin frame- very classy and understated.
My only beef with this set are the ZOOM functions (or lack thereof). There are only two options to zoom in on letterboxed programming or DVDs (non-anamorphic widescreeen). The "full' option just stretches the image horizontally and makes everything wider and distorted. 'Wide Zoom' is a bit better- but still distorts the picture, and doesn't present the letterboxed image at the correct height. It really makes me wonder what the designers of this TV were thinking- the two zoom options are so similar, and yet there's no option for cropping/zooming a letterboxed image without distortion. If you have a proper zoom funtion on your DVD player, it's a non-issue, but that still won't help with letterboxed TV programming.
However, this is still a great TV with great picture quality- and I guess that's the most important thing.
+5votes
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KDL-32L4000
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
WOW!
Date:February 22, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Picture quality and sound quality
Cons: 
Cons: none yet
i bought this tv to replace a rca 27'' truflat. this tv has the best picture that i have ever seen on a tv. but i learned the hard way that you have to HD service to be able to get the full experience of this tv. hope this helps anybody that is interested in this tv.
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KDL-32L4000
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
From: San Diego, CA
I've had this product for:1-2 years
over a year
Date:January 9, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: looks and sounds great
Cons: 
Cons: defective screen
I was nothing but please with this TV, but 13 months after purchase, colorful vertical lines appear on the TV, leaving it unusable. I was unable to get any help from Sony since it had been one month and some odd days after the warranty had expire. I definitely would not have bought this if I knew it was going to last for one year.
+3votes
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KDL-32L4000
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: san jose, ca
I've had this product for:1-2 years
2 years so far and works excelent
Date:December 24, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Great picture. Loud crisp volume.
Cons: 
Cons: Channel labeling is difficult.
The TV works great with the Playstation 3's bluray player. So crisp.
It also works great with streaming Netflix and HuluPlus.
The DVD's look great too out of the HDMI input since the playstation 3 upscales the image.
Out of RCA input it only looks as good as cable. Nothing special.
Cable looks good. It doesn't look pixelated or blocky like I've noticed on other brands.
It is a pain to label channels though. So you're better off not labeling them.
The favorite channels menu is useless. You basically can't manage a favorites list.
Overall I'm happy with the tv.
The Optical Output is great for home theater systems, which I use with a Sony STR K660P.
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KDL-32L4000
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: South Jordan,Ut
I've had this product for:less than a month
Wow!
Date:December 15, 2008
Pros: 
Pros: Great blacks,1080p with Hdmi,nice desing
Cons: 
Cons: none so far
I just Bought this tv on saturday and its amazing ,its got great black colors with no grey.on my ps3 i can watch Blu rays in 1080p with Hdmi and also play all my Xbox 360 and ps3 games in 1080P so this tv is cheap and good .i recomend it for a small room
+3votes
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KDL-32L4000
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: Silver Spring,MD
I've had this product for:1-2 years
screen lines and hazy after 18 months
Date:April 11, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: good size and footprint
Cons: 
Cons: hazy screen and lines
Sony style hyped up the reliability of Sony Bravia at their location. I wonder if this can be fixed.I had a chance to fix my old 32 inch sony tube tv prior to this purchase. it took 1 months for this to occur. It took me 14 years to have an issue with my old Sony tube television. Have the Juran quality standards changed at Sony corporate in Japan? I would expect this from a lower caliber company. Can this be repaierd or will I need to buy a Samsung?
+3votes
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KDL-32L4000
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: new york
I've had this product for:1-2 years
LASTED ONLY 2 YEARS
Date:September 12, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: good picture quality
Cons: 
Cons: not that reliable for a sony
It worked great when it lasted. Mine broke down after 2 years and the tech says the panel need to be replaced-the cost $ 800(more than I paid for the TV itself!). i was a great fan of sony until now but will try a different brand definitely.
+3votes
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>