Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

KDL-32L4000

32" Class BRAVIA L Series LCD HDTV
Overall rating:
2.784 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars:(14)
4 Stars:(1)
3 Stars:(1)
2 Stars:(5)
1 Star:(16)
16 out of 3743%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for KDL-32L4000
Review 1 for KDL-32L4000
Featured Review
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBDWIZ
From: Folsom, Ca.
I've had this product for:less than a month
Early Christmas Present
Date:December 17, 2008
Pros: 
Pros: Beautiful Picture
Cons: 
Cons: None
I recently purchased this unit for the Bedroom in which we also have a Sony Bluray Player and the units display is beautiful, with the proper HDMI cable the unit can easily support a full 1080p signal input via an available HDMI port. Making full use of the 1366 X 768 lines of resolution available.
Granted its not natively 1980 X 1080 but trust me Batman The Dark Knight or Kun fu Panda looks fantastic.
+7votes
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DubOmaha
From: Omaha, NE
I've had this product for:1-2 years
KDL-32L4000
Date:March 31, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: good for 18 months
Cons: 
Cons: Total junk after 18 months
The Sony name means nothing. Purchase a tv and 18 months later the lcd starts developing dark bloctches.Pretty expensive for a disposable
0votes
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
yflotl
From: Winston-Salem, NC
I've had this product for:2-5 years
BAD TV, BUT LOUSIER SERVICE!
Date:February 4, 2012
Pros: 
Pros: THE SONY NAME
Cons: 
Cons: REPEATED EFFORTS FOR SERVICE IS COSTLY!
We have had this tv less than 3 years and once, in the first 6 months, the tv froze (couldn't do anything but unplug it) so a technician came and replaced all its parts. The picture has now gone bad. It his vertical lines covering most of the screen. This started nearly a year ago with a line across the bottom. When we complained that this product nowhere near lives up to what we trusted in Sony's standards, the best they would offer us was a refurbished model of the same kind for nearly $300 when we paid almost $600 for the brand new one! Our experiences with this tv has soured us on Sony altogether.. We surely do not want another Bravia and, now, we do not want another Sony!
+1vote
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
NoMore4Me
From: Toronto, Canada
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Very disappointed
Date:January 1, 2012
I bought my own Sony Bravia almost 5 years ago and did not have a problem so I thought I would buy a smaller version for my elderly Mother. I bought this model the Sony 32L4000 exactly two years ago and last week the dark line and smudge marks began to appear. I am highly disappointed that Sony would allow or make such a thing. I have heard of TV makers purposely building short lived tv's, but I THOUGHT Sony was above that. From reading the reviews here, I can see that they are NOT above that kind of rip off game. Building a tv with sub standard components is something I expect from the copy cats out there, not from Sony. I will NOT be replacing her TV with a Sony and when mine eventually goes, which I am sure it will soon, I will NOT be buying a Sony for myself. Too bad, Sony, you lost yet another customer.
+5votes
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
NoMoreSonys
From: Wisconsin
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Bravia Screen dies within 2 years! Beware!
Date:November 20, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Worked great for 2 years
Cons: 
Cons: 2 years is the life span of a Bravia
I bought a Sony instead of the less expensive models... big mistake. I only got two years before my pannel began to develop dark streaks on the screen which got progressively worse. This appears to be a common issue too, but if you don't have an extended warranty, then you will pay more to fix then you paid for the tv. Sony, shame on you!
+6votes
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
aphrhodite
From: Tampa, FL
I've had this product for:2-5 years
Doubt I will buy sony again after this experience
Date:September 3, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: damaged after only 3 years
I have the same problem as other owners. I received this tv as a gift in May 2008. It was manufactured in April 2008. It worked great up until today when I got the infamous line going across the top portion of the screen and vertical lines going down from it. Apparently other users are saying this is a tboard problem. Which costs about $500 to repair. The tv was purchased for 700 but comparable tvs are now going for 300. I hope Sony can help me because I've purchased Sony for years. There is no reason why a 3 year old tv should be performing like this. It's unacceptable.
+7votes
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
AlonsoTech
From: Atlanta, GA
I've had this product for:2-5 years
Good... until it broke
Date:August 5, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: decent picture quality
Cons: 
Cons: It broke after 3 years for no apparent reason
This television worked well until it broke all of a sudden for no reason. I paid $700 for this television in 2008 and when it broke(developed a horizontal line that distorted color and image) I contacted Sony, they told me I needed to get it looked at by a certified technician($90 for a diagnosis) and if it was fixable they would give me a discount on the repairs or a discount on a new TV. Sad to think that Sony would sell a TV with a commonly occurring problem and the most they can offer is a "discount". I am disappointed and I used to be a loyal costumer and fan but after this I'm not buying Sony again. Apparently Sony thinks that it's ok for a 3yr old $700 TV to break even if the brand is supposed to be the epitome of quality.
+5votes
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappoiinted
From: Indiana
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Poor Reliability
Date:March 31, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Sound and Picture quality (originally)
Cons: 
Cons: Reliability - screen has a black spot forming
At less than 2 years old, the screen developed a black spot. The spot is about 14 inches long by 3 inches wide - vertically. Very disappointing for a brand name product. Bought the 'higher end' to get a product that would last, not this time around.
+2votes
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fool
From: MN
I've had this product for:1-2 years
WILL NOT LAST!
Date:December 27, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Good speakers and picture quality until the pannel goes out.
Cons: 
Cons: Pannel dies after warrent. 2 years then dead.
This set was great for 2 years, and then it died. had the T-con board replaced and other components looked at. Found out the pannel was kaput. to replace that it would cost anywhere from 500-700 bucks. To say the least I am DONE buying sony products. dont waste you money. BTW. most of the conponents inside this set are SAMSUNG in origin. If you want a lasting set from sony i guess you have to spend upwards of $2000. This model lacks reliability, just look online. I counted about 30 different people same TV with the same issue as me. If you want this set, buy a super extended warranty, otherwise you are giving your money away. (You shouldn'y need one anyways) Thnaks sony, for the waste of time and money.
+1vote
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KDL-32L4000
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Niick
From: san jose, ca
I've had this product for:1-2 years
2 years so far and works excelent
Date:December 24, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Great picture. Loud crisp volume.
Cons: 
Cons: Channel labeling is difficult.
The TV works great with the Playstation 3's bluray player. So crisp.
It also works great with streaming Netflix and HuluPlus.
The DVD's look great too out of the HDMI input since the playstation 3 upscales the image.
Out of RCA input it only looks as good as cable. Nothing special.
Cable looks good. It doesn't look pixelated or blocky like I've noticed on other brands.
It is a pain to label channels though. So you're better off not labeling them.
The favorite channels menu is useless. You basically can't manage a favorites list.
Overall I'm happy with the tv.
The Optical Output is great for home theater systems, which I use with a Sony STR K660P.
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KDL-32L4000
Presales
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Done
From: MS
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Double Trouble
Date:December 1, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: It was a Sony
Cons: 
Cons: It didn't live up to my expectations
I bought two of the KDL-32L4000s at the same time for my parents as they were moving to a nursing home. Both TVs have now died. One lasted a year. The other made it two. Both had issues with the image. One lost vertical hold and the other suffered from a continuous snow storm. Needless to say, I'm very disappointed with the Sony brand.
0votes
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KDL-32L4000
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MJSK
From: new york
I've had this product for:1-2 years
LASTED ONLY 2 YEARS
Date:September 12, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: good picture quality
Cons: 
Cons: not that reliable for a sony
It worked great when it lasted. Mine broke down after 2 years and the tech says the panel need to be replaced-the cost $ 800(more than I paid for the TV itself!). i was a great fan of sony until now but will try a different brand definitely.
+3votes
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Nvasilva
NEVER BUY THIS TV
Date:August 19, 2010
Cons: 
Cons: only work for 2 years, sound level
Bottom screen have vertical stripes. trashed and I bought another tv from another brand. Never will buy another sony.
SHAME ON YOU SONY. DONT TRASH YOUR MONEY ON THIS!!!!!!
+1vote
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
chelseabird
From: Florida
I've had this product for:1-2 years
The Batteries Lasted Longer than the TV!
Date:July 26, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Great batteries in the remote, Nice while it lasted
Cons: 
Cons: Poorly designed, contained flawed LCD Panel installed
Count me in with the many tv owners who now have a non-functioning 32" Sony Bravia LCD TV. After 22 months of low usage (not our main television), the screen developed a black horizontal line across the top of the screen. The bottom two thirds of the screen are covered with vertical colored stripes. Ironically, I still have the original Sony batteries in the remote. They work perfectly.
Spoke with technical support, customer relations and a Sony authorized repair center. Technical support and customer relations will not help because the television is out of warranty. Authorized repair center told me the LCD panel would need to be replaced and the part alone was over $700.
I have chosen to pruchase Sony products when available for the last 20 years. No more! Purchased a Dell computer and a Samsung cell phone for son to take to college. Shocked that a quality company like Sony will not support their product. Sadly, I can no longer trust the Sony name. Unless, of course, I need batteries.
+3votes
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Digistressed
From: Iowa
I've had this product for:2-5 years
2 years, 2 months, $700.00
Date:July 22, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: It said Sony on it
Cons: 
Cons: Sony ain't what it used to be
Bought in May of 2008 @ Best Buy. 22July2010 it has top third of picture good. Bottom two thirds have vertical, streaks on all inputs. Not likely to have it repaired after reading all the horror stories on this TV.
+1vote
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KDL-32L4000
 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Chicagocaesar
From: Silver Spring,MD
I've had this product for:1-2 years
screen lines and hazy after 18 months
Date:April 11, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: good size and footprint
Cons: 
Cons: hazy screen and lines
Sony style hyped up the reliability of Sony Bravia at their location. I wonder if this can be fixed.I had a chance to fix my old 32 inch sony tube tv prior to this purchase. it took 1 months for this to occur. It took me 14 years to have an issue with my old Sony tube television. Have the Juran quality standards changed at Sony corporate in Japan? I would expect this from a lower caliber company. Can this be repaierd or will I need to buy a Samsung?
+3votes
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
2ndsony
From: Pewaukee,WI
I've had this product for:1-2 years
bought 1.5 years ago sony 32 inch bravia sony
Date:March 28, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: worked well for year and a half
Cons: 
Cons: paid $699 for it on amazon.com and now horizantal lines and double images.
This is my 2nd Sony. The first one was flatscreen hd ready and screen was blank after 3 years of ownership. The 2nd one was purchased on amazon.com a year and a half ago. When you turn the tv on there is one horizantal line one image but when you change channels then you get two horizantal lines and two images. Not sure what to do. Don't know if this is repairable. Per my research this was a known issue so hoping Sony will make it right with me and either fix or replace defective product.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5votes
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
chucktownkid
From: charleston,SC
I've had this product for:1-2 years
DO NOT BUY
Date:February 25, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: It said sony on it and I thought I was getting the best product money could buy
Cons: 
Cons: 20 months after its manufacture date, the TV is done!
I bought a cheap/on sale 32" lcd tv at circuit city a couple of years ago.2 weeks after my warranty expired so did the tv. I told myself"You get what you paid for" so when I went to get a new tv I had to get a Sony. It is all I had ever bought before I got fancy and went lcd. Well, big mistake!! 20 months after the manufactureed date on the back of the tv, the tv is dead. Once again the consumer takes it in the ....well anyway. This is happening to a lot of these tv's, where is the recall? Come on Sony, do the right thing. You have made enough of my money over the years, now this is how I am thanked for customer loyalty??
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
epd1221
I've had this product for:1-2 years
only 18 months of use
Date:February 1, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: great till it went out
Cons: 
Cons: 650 dollars for 18 months of use
Great Tv until about 18 months of use. Then a Grey 2 inch bar at the top that does not go away. Then verticle red lines on screen as it warms up. Come on Sony this is supposed to last years and 18 months of use is unacceptable. There are others having the exact same problem. Start supporting your customers and help us.
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KDL-32L4000
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
BadBravia
From: Atlanta
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Don't Buy this TV is going out at 1.5 year old
Date:January 21, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Loved the picture when it worked
Cons: 
Cons: permanant horizontal line, white screeen, vertical lines, double vision
I bought this TV May of 2008. I chose Sony over other brands because the brand has a proven reliability and the picture was nice. I loved my TV until I had owned it for a year and a half. It developed a horizontal line across the top which is permanent. It has to "warm up" like an old TV set for 10 minutes before you can see a picture. I thought I could live with that, but now it is having a shaky screen and slight double vision off and on. I have read some other reviews which state this was is a known problem and Sony sent these TVs to the stores anyway. I paid right at $600.00 at Walmart.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>