Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

BDP-S550

Blu-ray Disc Player
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars:(12)
4 Stars:(6)
3 Stars:(0)
2 Stars:(0)
1 Star:(6)
17 out of 2471%Recommend This Product!
Customer reviews for BDP-S550
Review 1 for BDP-S550
Featured Review
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
workingdog
From: Pennsylvania
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Great Blue Ray!
Date:February 17, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: "Picture Quality, and Ease of Interface"
Cons: 
Cons: waiting so long to buy one!
This Blue Ray player does everything I want it to and more. The user interface is the same as my Sony LCD TV and they work like a charm together with a Monster HDMI cable.
There was a software update and I burnt the image file from sony on a disc and it upgraded exactly as they said it would on the update website. You can also connect a CAT5 and update that way if you like.
Standard DVD quality is so much better, and the Blue Ray disc's are to die for!
Forget the upconverter's and make the investment!
+13votes
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BDP-S550
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dolittle
From: NY
I've had this product for:2-5 years
Reliable player
Date:December 25, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Plays most BD disks
Cons: 
Cons: Does not have wi-fi and DLNA
I have had this BDP-S550 for almost 4 years. It had firmware 10 until yesterday. I have a very good collection of BD movies and never had a problem with them or DVD. Yesterday, when I tried to play Kungfu Panda 2, it would stop after 24 seconds. I finally downloaded the firmware 24 and cut it into a CD-R disc and upgraded the player. Upgrade went smooth and took about 15 minutes and as described at the Sony support website. Now, I am able to watch Kungfu Panda 2. I have not tried my old collections yet. Hoping that they will work just fine.
+3votes
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BDP-S550
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DRGESQ
From: Maryland
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Nice..UNTIL
Date:November 14, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: USED to have nice picture
Cons: 
Cons: Won't recognize disks
I had the same problem as the others who upgraded. Now it won't recognize most of the new disks I buy.
+2votes
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BDP-S550
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
waljack
From: Boise, Idaho
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Great until not great
Date:June 27, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Makes std DVDs look great, Remote has a light
Cons: 
Cons: Very slow to load. Remote touchy, don't bump it. Remote and prgramming not user friendly, using ambiguous terminology
The unit worked fine until warranty expired. I was irritated at how long it took to load a disc, but it did make DVDs look great too. I was very irritated that I only had to barely bump the remote and you were off into some menu. The terminology on the remote is misleading and unhelpful to describe menues. Now that it's out of Warranty, it won't play new Blu-Rays. I've upgraded the firmware and reset the unit with no success. No-one seems to have the fix for this, so in my book it's defective. This is the third Sony disc player that went bad after just a year or so. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOUTHER SONY!
+6votes
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BDP-S550
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
kart
From: New York
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Won't play Blu-ray discs anymore
Date:June 24, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: 7.1 analog outputs, great Blu-ray videos (when it worked)
Cons: 
Cons: Won't play Blu-ray discs anymore
I have this Blu-ray player for 18 months. I installed the latest firmware (version 020) when it first came out via network connection. For 17 months, it played blu-rays and DVD discs beautifully. Now it's the 18th month and it won't play blu-ray discs any more. The player displays the blu-ray disc as "unknown" and won't play the disc. DVD and CD discs still play just fine. I reseted, unplug, and e-mailed Sony support (they replied with "press and hold both the stop and power button for 10 seconds" but that didn't work either). Now I'm stuck with a blu-ray player that doesn't play a blu-ray movie.
+7votes
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BDP-S550
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Byron
From: Cornwall, Ontario
I've had this product for:6-12 months
Don't upgrade
Date:May 2, 2010
I was happy with the product. I decided to upgrade the firmware to further this glorious experience. After the upgrade (from 013 to 020), at least half of my Blu-ray discs register as unknown. It cannot be downgraded to the working firmware. I am very disappointed...
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BDP-S550
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Yikes
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Buyer Beware!
Date:February 5, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Great for 1 year
Cons: 
Cons: $400 Blu-ray that will stop working after 13 months!
The player worked great for the first 10 months. Then it started not playing blu-ray discs. Was told to update firmware, reset the system, and unplug it. None of these worked and my player is now out of warranty. So I paid $400 for a blu ray DVD player that only plays regular DVD's and lasted 13 months. Now I have a library full of blu ray's that I can't play. As an earlier review stated very dissapointing!
+10votes
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BDP-S550
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LuvBluRay
From: Canton, OH
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Streaming Video Needed
Date:January 8, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Excellent Picture & Sound
Cons: 
Cons: No video streaming
I wish Sony would create a software upgrade to allow video streaming. This is the future of video.
+8votes
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BDP-S550
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mountaingoat
From: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
I've had this product for:6-12 months
A step above basic
Date:December 28, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Has stood up against a 3 and 5 year old using constantly
Cons: 
Cons: Doesn't start where previously stopped
The picture is great, it has stood up to my 3 and 5 year old boys using it steady (that means abusing it). Hasn't required any firm wear updates and haven't had any problems with it. Bought it due to the analogue audio outputs but then immediately updated my receiver and didn't need them. I recently bought the newest bottom of line model and it does the same good job. I love Bluray!
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BDP-S550
 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Alain
Not what I expected from Sony
Date:June 9, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Looks good; reasonable image
Cons: 
Cons: Poor reliability
Product worked well for about six months. Started to have problems w/ Blu Ray discs and was told we needed to update the firmware. By the second udpate, after 11 months of ownership, Blu Ray discs stopped working altogether. At month 13, no discs whatsoever will play. Unfortunately, I failed to recognize the timeline as this was evolving so I now have a useless device that's out of warranty and headed for the trash... Extremely disappointing.
+15votes
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BDP-S550
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
phoenixandrew
From: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
I've had this product for:less than a month
Overall great with a couple of exceptions.
Date:March 9, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Sharp picture, load time not too bad.
Cons: 
Cons: Doesn't start where you leave off, no frame-advance/slo-mo.
Performs all the basic stuff a Blu-ray DVD player should perform. My only two gripes with it is that unlike my Sony standard DVD player it doesn't always resume where you leave off if you hit the "Stop" button. Plus, also unlike my standard Sony DVD player, there is no frame-advance or slo-mo.
Reviewer images:
(Click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0votes
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BDP-S550
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JEREMY
From: Houston, Tx
I've had this product for:1-3 months
GREAT
Date:March 8, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: ALL
Cons: 
Cons: NONE
I love the sound and picture with this blu-ray player. Its my first but with all other sony products makes great combo.
+3votes
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BDP-S550
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
neff
From: Kissimmee,Florida
I've had this product for:less than a month
best Blue ray
Date:March 6, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: everything
Cons: 
Cons: nothing
easy to hookup,load dvd's fast,great pictures,great sound,on scale 1 to 10 wich 10 is great,a give sony blueray dvd player a 11.
0votes
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BDP-S550
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
patty
i love it
Date:February 10, 2009
this is one of the best bluerays for the money you can buy.
-1vote
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BDP-S550
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigBadBob
From: SoCal
I've had this product for:6-12 months
BDP S550
Date:February 8, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: It does what it is supposed to do. Very nice display
Cons: 
Cons: Don't be so picky. It loads fast enough
I was told that this player takes too long to load. I find that it takes a little while, but it has much more to load than a regular DVD player. It isn't a problem.
This player has very nice playback and a good price.
I have the Costco version of this player and am very pleased with it
+6votes
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BDP-S550
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pierre3408
From: Smithtown, NY
I've had this product for:1-3 months
You can't resume from where you left off!
Date:February 2, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Play back is great!!
Cons: 
Cons: you can't restart from where you left off if you turn off the machine, change a setting or open the DVD tray.
You would think an advanced Blu-ray player would resume where you left off if you turn off the player and turn it back on later. The most basic DVD players do this. They even remember the DVD you watched previously from where you left off.
Sony fix this and you'll have a great machine.
Also, audio factory default is not Dolby 5.1, you have to go to the settings menu and change from basic stereo output.
Play back picture quality is excellent, it's shame that such basic requirements were neglected. Bad job Sony!!
+14votes
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BDP-S550
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JKirk
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Excellent but one glitch
Date:January 13, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Great picture
Cons: 
Cons: Replay after STOP does not work for all Blu-ray disks
I've really enjoyed the incredible picture produced by this player both with Blu-ray and DVD media. The player itself is rock solid. Menus and navigation are easy. I have made some button errors on the remote because of the double-ring layout - hitting the outer ring instead of the inner - but this just takes some getting used to.
-
There is one irritating behavior with some - actually most - of the Blu-ray disks I've purchased since buying the player in December. The player will not restart the disk if it is stopped. The disks always start from the beginning. DVDs do not exhibit this behavior.
-
Sony support indicated the problem can be caused by Java-based media but they could not help with identifying the media, although they did indicate the icon would be labeled BD-J.
+29votes
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BDP-S550
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Robbie
From: Spokane
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Awesome picture
Date:January 3, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Easy set up and fast load times
Cons: 
Cons: price
Right out of the box this was an easy set up. Excellent picture quality and goes perfect with my HT SF 2300. If you can get over paying too much this is the best Blu ray player.
+4votes
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BDP-S550
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
homerkong
From: Illinois
I've had this product for:3-6 months
Best Player on the Market
Date:December 26, 2008
Pros: 
Pros: It does everything from great picture from decoding every codec!
Cons: 
Cons: Pricey
EASY,EASY, EASY to set up.This player does it all
+6votes
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BDP-S550
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tshirt
From: Columbus, OH
I've had this product for:less than a month
Great Player at a Premium price
Date:December 14, 2008
Pros: 
Pros: Build Quality, Picture Quality, Ease of Setup
Cons: 
Cons: Price, Price and lack of wireless card for online features
This player is terrific, even though some of the advanced features (such as BD LIve) are kind of pointless and shouldn't factor into your decision, the quality of the player is impeccable (as expected from a Sony product). Setup was a breeze with all menus and options being very intuitive and easy to configure. I would have liked to have seen a wireless card in the player as most home networks are wireless these days and it becomes a pain to run a CAT5 cable from my wireless router to the player. The only drawback of this machine is the crazy price that I paid.... but I still paid it:)
+16votes
17of 18voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>