Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sony.

D-NF340

MP3 CD Walkman CD Player
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars:(6)
4 Stars:(1)
3 Stars:(2)
2 Stars:(0)
1 Star:(0)
7 out of 978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend
Customer reviews for D-NF340
Review 1 for D-NF340
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
From: Atlanta, GA
I've had this product for:1-2 years
Good, Cheap Little CD/MP3 Player
Date:June 23, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: Plays CDs well; FM radio tunes very well; player is delicate with CDs, unlike my old DNE520; Volume is nice and LOUD
Cons: 
Cons: No ID3Tag recognizing; no folder-search feature, so you find your mp3 tracks by the grace of God :P
I bought this when I messed up the door lid on my D-NE520 so that the lid wouldn't pop open anymore when I wanted to replace the CD. It works as expected from a Sony CD Walkman: the CD almost never skips during play, the FM radio tunes well and consistently, and the volume range is just *lovely.* Main issues I have with this player is that the design doesn't have the pizzazz of Sony's past CD Walkman models -- it's bigger and bulkier than what they came out with even 3 years prior without yet sacrificing portability and playability (look up images of the D-NE520 -- this doesn't compare well to that); the bass is kinda blah and over-the-top, compared to D-NE520's more subtler bass and equalizer, and my current player seems to have a motor issue at the moment.. Oh, well...
I find the lack of CD-Text recognition to be the worst flaw of this player. Thanks to not having that, I'm forced to remember the arranged order of all of my mp3s and the folders they were in, and play accordingly.
All in all, unless you have more familiarity with Sony's older CD/MP3 players (i.e. me), I would recommend this player only for those who just want their basic CD/Mp3 playing needs met. Otherwise, I suggest that you get Sony's older, fancier models from used stores instead, at least 'til Sony starts making better CD players again.
+8votes
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for D-NF340
 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
From: Colorado
I've had this product for:1-2 years
who even makes 'em anymore?
Date:August 4, 2010
Pros: 
Pros: everybody is making cheap stuff
Cons: 
Cons: worst customer service experience ever for a defective player
I agree with the other reviews but nobody is even making them just for cd playback. I remaster music and need something to playback quickly. I use GRADO headphones believe it or not with the first bass node selected. I always used Panasonic's portables for yrs but they dont make em. Oh well.........
-5votes
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for D-NF340
 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: FL
I've had this product for:less than a month
I don't like the release to put the CD in
Date:April 9, 2009
Pros: 
Pros: Like the syle and buttons
Cons: 
Cons: Release for put in CD/MP3 CD is not easy to use. no wrist strap not easy to carry.
I like the over all look, but do not like how release to open for CD/ MP3 Cd works. I wish there was a wrist strap to hold, not easy to carry. I have to make a pouch to hold so I will not drop it. Not easy to carry.
+20votes
35of 50voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for D-NF340
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: woodland hills, CA
I've had this product for:1-3 months
Great easy to use portable CD player/radio
Date:January 13, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Easy to navigate. Remote makes it easy. Sony site is least expensive.
Cons: 
Cons: none
I bought a Tune Belt for the player and strap it around my waist and off we go. I use it mainly for audio books. I get too tired reading -- this is great listening to the stories!
+10votes
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for D-NF340
Top 10 contributor
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: NY
I've had this product for:3-6 months
SONY WALKMAN CD PLAYER D-NF340 REVIEW
Date:April 7, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Excellent CD Playback, Solid Build Quality, FM Tuner
Cons: 
Cons: No AM Tuner
Exceptional studio sound quality, digital Mega Bass sound system, solid build quality, attractive appearance, shuffle, repeat, resume, and bookmark program play modes. Just another excellent product from Sony. The Sony Walkman CD Player D-NF340 is without question the absolute best portable CD player that Sony offers. This portable player offers an extensive feature set. Those features include a 1-bit D/A converter for outstanding sound, 3.5mm headphone output jack, skip-free electronic shock protection, digital volume control, LCD display, battery level indicator, automatic shut-off, hold switch, radio on, radio off, display, play mode controls, FM tuner, FM mono/local selection setting for clear reception, FM headphones cord antenna, 40 FM station presets, MP3 CD playback, CD-R/RW playback, AMS music search sensor, remote controller, 5 direction CD control key, play, pause, stop, forward skip, and reverse skip CD transport controls. The Sony Walkman CD Player also utilizes a two position on/off user selectable Automatic Volume Limiter System (AVLS) volume distortion reduction system. All of my CD’s sound fantastic on this portable with clear vocals, detailed midrange, and well defined bass performance. The FM tuner receives my favorite stations with accurate, drift-free reception day or night. I have not been able to make this Sony Walkman CD player skip during playback under any circumstances with the shock protection enabled or disabled. This Sony Walkman CD player D-NF340 is a great companion for the morning exercise routine, walks in the park, outings at the beach, listening to audio books, late night at home private listening sessions, or when you’re sitting poolside taking a sip from that refreshing cool glass of lemonade. In order to achieve audiophile quality sound reproduction from this CD player, you should disable the electronic shock protection system during non-active use. The supplied earbud headphones offer average sound quality. However, the audio playback of this portable can be improved upon dramatically in my experience with an upgrade to the Sony Extra Bass MDR-XB500 headphones. These Extra Bass headphones produce copious amounts of detailed dynamic bass when combined with the playback precision of the Sony D-NF340 Walkman CD Player. The Sony Walkman is powered by 2 AA cell batteries or can be powered with an optional AC-E45A AC power adapter. Unfortunately, the Sony Walkman CD player D-NF340 does not offer an AM tuner for enjoyment of news, talk, weather, and sports programs. Good Luck. Enjoy.
+3votes
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for D-NF340
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Metairie, LA.
I've had this product for:less than a month
Simply The Best, Left , Anywhere .
Date:May 21, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Performance, Appearance, Capabilities, Sound, Price, Everything
Cons: 
Cons: N/A
What a cd player ! This machine is not only beautiful, but it has so many features that aren't even mentioned. Such as pressing play mode once while radio is playing, for unbelievable fm sound. The one thing anyone must do first is upgrade the earbuds, then you will realize the power your player has. The wired remote is very handy. But sometimes it's unnecessary. That's good it's not mandatory. As light as this player is, it's hard to believe it can sound so good and powerful. Very good for mp3 cds and audiobooks on cd. Even the Bible, and the display shows you all info. I see why this player is almost double the price on some websites and is always backordered and out of stock. I love this more than my Zune. I'm seriously considering buying another, for a spare.
+5votes
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for D-NF340
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Wayne, NJ
I've had this product for:2-5 years
Probably the best CD player currently available
Date:August 7, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: Great sound quality, remembers where your CD stopped, great design
Cons: 
Cons: No AM radio
I've been a fan of this CD player for a long time and I have gone through two of them. I'm about to purchase my third one. My issue is that with the constant wear and tear throughout the seasons and the constant switching of CDs, the black spinning spindle holder gets loose. Super glue is only a temporary fix and causes the springs and ball bearings to fall out. If I could find some replacement spindles I would have two functioning CD players, but replacement parts are impossible to find and sending this thing in for repair is a hassle. I give the life span of this CD player about 2 years if it's used constantly (average 1.5 hours per day while walking/driving). Other than that, I think it's the best portable CD player out on the market right now due to the sound quality, LCD display, track memory, and overall design. I hope Sony keeps this product alive since good portable CD players are hard to find now on the market (and I won't accept being forced to listen to inferior digital files).
+10votes
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for D-NF340
 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
From: Manchester, N.J.
I've had this product for:less than a month
Really good product
Date:November 17, 2011
Pros: 
Pros: sound is clear. Must read instructions in order to understand all the features.
Cons: 
Cons: Not all equipment was in the package.
Very nice player but did not have the ear phones & charger that was supposed to be included in the package. I had earphone from my previous devise so it didn't matter to me. But if some one was getting the product new for the first time that could be a problem.
+1vote
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for D-NF340
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product